Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kenwood DNX 5220BT

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Nav & Dash Cam Forum' started by derwill, May 16, 2008.

  1. derwill

    derwill Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have had the unit installed and I must say it is fantastic. It does everything it says on the box and is very user friendly. Initially I found it a bit overwhelming as the menu system is quite extensive and you really will need a few days with it to fully get used to all the settings and functionality.

    I am having issues with the POIs. I have installed the speed camera POIs and as I approach a camera it flashes red at the top and sounds an alarm. Is there anyway of adjusting the time or distance to the camera before the alarm sounds? Is there anyway of reducing the amount of audio alerts you get when approaching the camera? It is driving me insane with the number of sound notifications I am getting. One or two will be enough and I would like to be able to only be notified when I am maybe 300 yards away from the POI.

    Also, the unit seems to want to notify me of any turns up ahead when I am not routing. So for example if I am driving from A to B but have not entered a route I expect the navigation unit to remain silent but only warn me of cameras. What it does instead is to give me a sound and visual alert of all turns off the main route I am travelling on. I really don't see the point of this and is is really irritating.

    These are the only things I find annoying about the DNX 5220BT. It could be ME not having set something correctly. Any help will be appreciated.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. derwill

    derwill Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    problem solved, the unit works very well.
  3. dejongj

    dejongj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,167
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    Thanks for the little write up! Have you got a phone connected to it? Can you store more than 3 telephone numbers?
  4. derwill

    derwill Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes I am using a nokia E51 and it works seamlessly with the DNX 5220BT. It transferred my entire phonebook in 30 seconds. I have approximately 300 entries in my phonebook. Any questions, please ask. I will be more than happy to answer them.

    Attached Files:

  5. 18pcs

    18pcs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Can you please tell me if all the SMS functiosn work ? I am unable to get my Nokia N958GB and 8220BT's SMS functions to work and the button stays dimmed out. Thanks in advance.

  6. vxr_phil

    vxr_phil Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would appreciate some help on a couple of things please.....

    Have installed the unit and all works well except taffic notification on NAV, there is no signal strength showing in the top right corner as the three bars are just empty.

    Have i forgot to switch something on ??


    Secondly does anyone know if the USB port will allow movie files to be played ??

    Thanks
  7. derwill

    derwill Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    To get the traffic info funtction working you have to register for your TMC licence from Traffic Master. This licenc comes free with the unit but will only be emailed to you once you submit the serial number of your unit. Please go to


    https://shop.garmin.com/fmtraffic/select_service_plan.asp?L=EN&CR=2&PR=2

    After entering your product details you will be given your tmc licenc which you enter into your Kenwood unit. The traffic info will start working after that.
  8. alien2000a

    alien2000a Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Derwill,

    This may be a stupid question but as far as I know Pioneer AVIC devices wouldn't let you use the navigation and DVD functions while driving. Does Kenwood do this as well? If yes is there any way to bypass this?

    Many thanks.
  9. wolfnibblechips

    wolfnibblechips Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wire the handbrake sensor to ground:smashin:
  10. kalel795

    kalel795 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    this might sound dilly but i have a nissan navara and was looking to get on of these, how easy was it to install?
    how good is the bluetooth? (as my truck has is built in already and it works really well and dont want to loose it)

    any help before i spend the cash would be much appreciated.
  11. RobD79

    RobD79 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Can anyone reading this thread tell me how to upload speed camera POIs to the Kenwood DNX 5220 BT? Thanks in advance, I'm a bit stuck!

    Rob
  12. wolfnibblechips

    wolfnibblechips Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know how to play movies from an ipod touch on the DNX-5220BT?
  13. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    @derwill,

    please can you tell us how you solved those issues so we can learn all from your knowledge.

    thanks,
    bt
  14. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    download the POIs for Garmin kits and store it on your hard drive.

    download the latest POILoader from Garmin http://www8.garmin.com/products/poiloader/

    this version doesn't need a SD card as the older version did and since the DNX5220 only has CD/DVD slot, you need this new version.

    now run this program and follow the instructions given by the POILoader. it will generate the file Poi.gpi.

    burn this file Poi.gpi in the folder Garmin on a CDR so that you have

    Garmin\Poi.gpi on your cdr or cdrw disc.

    Now run to your car and fireup the 5220 open the NAV and insert this cdr in to the DVD/DC slot and enjoy!

    Hope this helps.

    Bear in mind that the other Kenwood products like G520 / DNX7200 have an SD slot what you use for this.
  15. univega

    univega Guest

    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi,

    I'm having the same problems, how did you get it sorted?


    Sorry, another question.

    I've activated the TMC sytem with the code I got from Garmin but my unit just says 'searching' even though the code is valid.

    Does it need to be tuned to Classic FM constantly to receive TMC data (like my old VDO unit) or will it do it regardless of channel and should I pick up anything up here in Aberdeen or will I only get the TMC info down south.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2008
  16. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    if it accepted your code you got from the Garmin web site and you have checked in Setup / TMC to see if you have the Tm-TMC lifetime subscription than all is fine.

    give it some time so the TMC receiver is finding it's signal. this can take some time. you DON'T need to be on any radio station since the TMC module has it's own receiver. and btw, the dnx5220 is using the Traffic Master for TMC messages. not classic FM what is iTIS (another company).

    in the uk you have 2 systems, iTIS & Traffic Master.
  17. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    have a look http://www.lordpercy.com/tmc_explained.htm
  18. univega

    univega Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the TMC info, that clears a few things up :thumbsup:.

    Can anyone help with my POI alerts problem?

    Cheers,

    Martin
  19. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    when you run the Garmin POILoader you will have a question some thing like auto or advanced. if you choose advanced you can change the behaviour of the speed camera messages. you can tell the program the distance before it gives you the warning.

    i did this some time ago so i'm not sure about the names. other wise have a look at http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/ where you can find more info.
  20. Lada

    Lada Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
  21. paddcomp

    paddcomp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi there,

    I'm seriously considering the 5220BT to fit into my C class W203. This certainly seems like a superior to the OEM Comand unit, which would cost approx. £1K to retro fit and doesn't give BT.

    Questions I have:-
    1. How does the NAV compare to a Tomtom 910. I like the text to speech (reading actual road names and personalised warnings for POI and reading texts aloud) and full postcode search facility.
    2. Can I play DVD movies whilst navigating, I'm planning to install 2 rear screens.
    3. Does the head unit need or have an external mic for telephone calls, I would be looking to buy some Connect2 leads to use the steering wheel buttons.

    What do you think the costs of installation including 2 read headrest screens and adapting to use the cars steering wheel controls? I have prices for the majors pieces of hardware so I'm just looking for an indication of installation time / costs. I've never done anything like this before so have no idea what these specialist charge for a days labour (Lancashire area PR postcode).

    TIA
    Brian
  22. timp

    timp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been quoted £1070 for the DNX8220BT - fitted with steering wheel adapter and dash trim piece. Might be a few quid extra for some USB extension cables (not sure how long the ones fitted to the unit are). Think the dealer wanted £870 for the 5220BT fitted (with the adapter & trim). Dunno about the W203 as you might get issues with the CANBUS and stuff (I've got COMAND in my R171) - fitting might bump the price up a lot more than my example above (Kia cee'd)+ plus you need to factor in the rear screens and fitting thereof.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  23. djsky

    djsky Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    WHenever I go to get the Traffic Master subscription access code, it is asking for 60 quid plus tax... How have you guys managed to get it for free?
  24. Lada

    Lada Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Move to a different country :) No, really I guess this should be for free such kind of service. This should be donated by government because it saves the costs, fuel, time, live environment...

    E.g. over here in Czech republic there are two providers of this services covering whole country. Both are for free, both collect info from Police, Rescue... and from volunteers.
  25. paddcomp

    paddcomp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Timp,
    This doesn't sound too bad, looks like £150ish for fitting then. From what I can see that I need the hardware would be approx £785, to include the looms and adaptors for the CANBUS and facia trim. This would leave the rear screens and possible DVD changer. I've noticed that you can buy replacement headrests with the screens in, which would suit me, and the C-KO 9" ones look to be around £350 per pair. Not too sure if I would need a seperate DVD changer, so may drop this.

    I probably need a trip to my local ICE retailer to have a chat, always good to sound like you know somthing about it though. If I could get all this fitted for £1500 I'd be interested:thumbsup:
  26. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    also make sure that you choose the right kenwood HU.

    yes it will, but when you type in your kenwood TMC number you will see that that the price goes to $0.

    i have done this with the dnx5220. this will ONLY work with an original UK HU since kenwood UK pays garmin.
  27. vxr_phil

    vxr_phil Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help please....tried to connect my ipod via the 300v lead but the unit always says 'disconnected' ......are there settings etc that I should change??

    anyone had any success connecting an ipod video ??

    thanks
  28. bitonw

    bitonw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    sorry i don't have (want) a ipod so i can't help you. not sure but did you check the kenwood web site to see if you are running the latest firmware version?
  29. djsky

    djsky Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haven't got an ipod, but are you sure you've got it connected to the correct ports on the back of the Kenwood?
  30. vxr_phil

    vxr_phil Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help and suggestions so far guys, I have the connections correct just usb, audio and a video lead to insert.

    will take another look at the kenwood website, but I believe I have latest versions

    thanks again

Share This Page