Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KEF Reference 104/2 Tweeter

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by kmile, Nov 8, 2009.

1. kmile

kmile Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,
    Firstly, I am not an engineer but I will try to explain my problem as clearly as possible.
    And let me tell you, it's a BIG problem...
    I am absolutely devastated. On Saturday 14th Nov 2009 I've organised a dance party for 70 people.
    Today my brother in law visited me and he wanted to see how my lovely KEF Reference 104/2 sound.
    I have Roksan Kandy MKIII amplifier which according to its specification produces 185W at 4 Ohms.
    KEF's speakers are 200W at 4 Ohms.

So my brother took the amp's remote control, put some music on and turned the volume very high, I don't think it was max, may be 80%. Suddenly the sound turned into some dull music and I knew straight away the tweeters blew up! Both of them at the same time!
    Now, let me tell you the story about the speakers. I bought them a month and a half ago from an ex Hi Fi engineer who bought them with damaged tweeters (original T33 tweeters were fluid cooled and it was a common problem that the fluid dried up especially when not in use for a long time).
    T33's are discontinued and the engineer I bought the speakers from said that KEF supplied him with a replacement tweeters, KEF NT25 SP1353 4Ohms.
    Everything was fine until today...I don't know what to do. Guys please help.

Do you know where I could get a replacement and what tweeter I should get?
    Also, I am suspicious that the tweeters installed by that engineer may not be suitable.

Firstly because they are new – should not blow up.