Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just washed my car keys!!!

Discussion in 'Motoring Forum' started by 3swordsred, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. 3swordsred

    3swordsred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Afternoon,

    I'm relatively new here but need some info if anyone can help:thumbsup:

    As the title states my car keys have been washed which means I can only unlock my car with the key and not by remote thingy.

    The remote thingy will lock the car but not unlock which means i can happily sit in the car using the key with engine running and about 10 mega watts of alarm:rolleyes:

    Anyone got any idea's how to get this sorted and cheaply if poss :suicide:
  2. Bat-man

    Bat-man Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,312
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +137
    Hair dryer, warmish oven?
  3. JonMace

    JonMace Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +63
    Did you not get 2?
  4. 3swordsred

    3swordsred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Took the key apart and dried it out!!!!

    Purchased the car 2nd hand and was never given another key :rolleyes:
  5. Bat-man

    Bat-man Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,312
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +137
    Thought it would be OK after drying it out.
  6. semiskimmed

    semiskimmed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,568
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +213
    it MIGHT have worked after drying it out but you would have had to completely dry it before trying to use it as youve tried it and sent power through the thing its probably fried. get in touch with your car manufacturer local dealer for a new fob. i just hope its not a merc :eek: as you will probably cry when the want you to pay the bill
  7. barrybarryr

    barrybarryr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    719
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19
    A similar thing happened to me.

    The only thing I could do was goto the dealer (in my case Peugeot) and get another key fob made programmed with your alarm code.

    Give them a call see what they say!
  8. dan653

    dan653 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +52
    yeah you may have pair the key with the car again (i think you normally have to do this when you replace its batteries). Try googling for you make and model or tke it to your local stealers

    something like this, this is for a 306 aparently:
    http://unlocker-forums.co.uk/showthread.php?t=36154
  9. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,192
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +65
  10. 3swordsred

    3swordsred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers for all the replys

    The car in question is a Toyota Corolla:D

    The toyota garage is engaged at the minute

    Got a horrible feeling this will cost me a fortune:rolleyes:
  11. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,192
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +65
    for a new one, it may cost around a 100...
  12. dan653

    dan653 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +52
  13. 3swordsred

    3swordsred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the replies

    Unfortunately you can only reprogramme if you have at least 1 working key

    I have spoken with Toyota who have quoted "£900" plus labour:lease: :lease:

    As they would need to replace ECU and barrel etc.

    Looks like I may be delving into the fuse box for a quick fix!!!!!!!!!:clap:
  14. 3swordsred

    3swordsred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You are absolutely right Sean5302;)

    But if they do have change the ECG etc is'nt this still going to run into £100's or am I missing the point:confused: :confused:
  15. BenW

    BenW Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    870
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    It will be 100s but a local garage probably won't charge as much labour. However such a sophisticated job may have to be done at the main dealers

    When we had a key reprogrammed took it to a local ford dealer and he had to drive the car something like 20/30 miles to another garage to get it done. Can't remember the price though
  16. spl23

    spl23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,508
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +357
    You can turn the alarm off on a Toyota (or at least you can on my 2002 Celica) if the immobiliser part of the key is still working (which it presumably is) even if the alarm radio has failed.

    Open the car with the key, and the alarm will go off. Insert the key and start the car - the alarm will stop after 30 seconds. The alarm will then sound again 15 or so seconds later, and will again stop after 30 seconds. However, that's it - the alarm will then disarm and not sound again. (Obviously, if you *don't* have a valid immobiliser key in the ignition, it will keep going off...)

    (Demonstrated to me by a helpful RAC man when my key was intermittently failing!)
  17. Badlands

    Badlands New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +25
    Change your car.:cool:
  18. JagoUK

    JagoUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7,049
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +597
    you got it sorted yet?

    your key works as a normal key right? in which case you have one key to make another key work, just buy a new one and use the old one to reprogram the new one.

    look on the net for instructions, and ebay for a new key
  19. M-C-P-M

    M-C-P-M Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    956
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +118
    I was going to post virtually the same thing this morning, lol I have just replaced the lid to my fish tank.
    it had started to buckle over the years, one half of it was really stuck i gave it a real good tug and not only did it open the front bit, but also the back and that was were the keys were:eek: PLOP, i had just been varnishing the new lid so I couldn't just stick my hand in as all the fish would have keeled over!
    I had to go wash my hands real quick and all the time i was doing that my keys were at the bottom of my 5ftx2ftx2ft fish tank!
    hands washed and dried got a net and fished them out:thumbsup: i started thinking the worst, but it seems that Nissan Primera Estate keys are waterproof, phew! I hope yours are ok cause i know how your feeling believe me:D
  20. trashbat

    trashbat Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    get a fancy clifford alarm for about the same price, £350. gotta be better than paying out £900 or what ever.

    one question i ask though, why would then need to change the ECU and the ignition barrell, sounds like a load of billy if you ask me.
  21. dicky-do

    dicky-do Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to find a locksmith that can cut and reprogamme keys. He will cut you a new key, reprogramme it with out the old one as he will have all make and modles on the computer!!! NO need to replace the ecu and barrel, just trying to get £900 out of you. If he is good at his job it will take 2 shacks of a wet dogs ..... well you know what im main.

    and cost no more than £50.:lesson:

    how do i know this:D

    Im a locksmith:thumbsup:
  22. tom_piano_man

    tom_piano_man Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    We kinda had this problem with an import car. Somewhere amongst the documentation for the car you might find the security code for the key. Give this to the dealer and they should be able to program a key with that.

    Failing that, (cant find the code) you should be able to give the VIN (chassis number) to a dealer, who look the car up on the UK database, where the required key security code will be stored. They can then program a key.

    You do not need a new ECU and Barrels, and independant specialists may be able to do this as well (see post above)

    Hope this helps.

Share This Page