Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jeet Kuno Do or Tae Kwon Do clubs in West London / Middlesex - any recommendations?

Discussion in 'General Chat Forum' started by Dan Smiffy, Apr 21, 2007.

1. Dan Smiffy

Dan Smiffy Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Hiya,

Can anybody recommend a friendly Jeet Kune Do or Tae Kwon Do school anywhere fairly local to me in Northolt, Middx - willing to travel to attend a friendly club where a 30 year old absolute novice to this sort of thing would be welcome, but ideally not very far - cycleable distance after work prefered. When I search there are a dozen clubs in Harrow alone but I'd prefer to go to a recommended place than pick one at random, or just go to the nearest. A mate started Jeet lessons about six months ago and reckons it has completely changed his life - I could do with the same thing!

Cheers,

Dan
  2. mjn

mjn Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,534
    You need to decide with format of TKD you want to do?

*** or ITF?

Oh.....*** has been edited out, so i'll spell it...World Taekwondo Federation
  3. Dan Smiffy

Dan Smiffy Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    ...Erm, hard to decide because I don't know the difference! Nor did I know there were two "flavours" of TKD to be honest. Which would you recommend for a complete newbie who wants to learn a format of self defence a) for fitness reasons, first and foremost, and b) to eventually be more confident I could thump and then run away from an attacker who tried to thump me first?

Ooh and c) my mate reckons what JKD training has done to him physically is dwarfed by how much better his brain is working these days - we're both struggling scriptwriters but I'm struggling much more than he is now! Got to put a stop to that.

Dan

4. Reign-Mack

Reign-Mack Member

Ratings:
    +217