Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

java and other programs will not install

Discussion in 'Computer Systems' started by leigh120585, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. leigh120585

    leigh120585 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi all, i have built a new pc and having problems installing a couple of programs. I have tried to install java but when i get to the actual part of it installing it does nothing, there is no progress.

    My computer is as follows: AMD A6 3650
    ASROCK MOTHER BOARD
    HIS 6670(DUAL GRAPHICS)
    4GB RAM
    WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
    SATA 3 HARD DRIVE

    THANKS FOR ANY HELP LEIGH
  2. phillyd1981

    phillyd1981 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,348
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +541
    have you made sure that the java version you are trying to install is the 64bit version and not a 32bit!
  3. Sinbadio

    Sinbadio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Would matter if it was 32 bit or not as you can still install any program on a 64bit OS. So what programs specifically aren't installing for you? Seeing as the setup is new have you made sure that all the OS updates are installed like SP1 and other such things? Run windows update mate and let it download and install everything and then try and install everything else after!
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2012
  4. leigh120585

    leigh120585 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    ive just tried the 64 bit download, but its still the same when i get to the status of the install. I have tried installing Amd system monitor and amd overdrive. I have also had the bsod a few times, im wondering if i have got somthing wrong in the bios?
  5. Sinbadio

    Sinbadio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Well have you made any changes to the BIOS or overclocked anything? I recommend going into the BIOS and restoring it to its default settings if you have changed anything within it. You could also try and reinstall windows if you haven't had it setup for long.
  6. phillyd1981

    phillyd1981 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,348
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +541
    true but sometimes I have a had few problems with 32bit installs on a 64bit o/s
  7. Sinbadio

    Sinbadio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yeah sometimes you do and you should always try and install a 64bit version but there's not always one to install. Well I'm sure not all those APU's are unlocked, unless the black editions, so installing overdrive wont make it any easier to overclock.
  8. phillyd1981

    phillyd1981 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,348
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +541
    Java has a 64bit version so stop belittling what I said.

    Leigh is your hardware not faulty it might be worth using mem test to check your ram and call up the smart monitor on for your hdd at least if they come back fine you can rule that out as a problem.

    did your windows 7 install with no problems.
  9. Sinbadio

    Sinbadio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    I don't really know much about software I must admit, should stop trying to help lol Just a simple enthusiast!
  10. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,029
    Media:
    10
    Albums:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +932
    Your mention of BSODs is very telling: when do these occur? I assume that in all other respects, the system is working correctly? What are the error codes when you BSOD? Do you have all the W7 updates? Have you loaded all the latest drivers and the mobo install utility (if there is one)?
  11. leigh120585

    leigh120585 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have done the mem test, which is ok. What is thesmart monitor as mentioned in post 8? Thanks your help guys!!
    I have just tried installing sis soft sandra and again when it comes to the part of the install nothing happens, infact it disapeard from the desktop.

Share This Page