Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a specific HDMI lead needed for 3D?

Discussion in 'TV Technology: Smart TV, 3D, Ultra HD, 4K' started by 02browncraig, Dec 15, 2010.

1. 02browncraig

02browncraig Member

Ratings:
    +1
    I think read somewhere that you need a specific type of HDMI cable for 3D to work, is this true? If so what cable is it I need?

Thanks for your help, sorry im a complete novice when it comes to 3D.
  2. toddy28

toddy28 Active Member

Ratings:
    +344
    1.3a will do it or 1.4 if you want the audio return channel
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. 02browncraig

02browncraig Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for that

Gonna sound stupid but what is audio return channel?
  4. andy1249

andy1249 Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,239
    The numbers dont apply to the cables , thats just cables sellers pulling a fast one.
    Cables can only be ,

Standard speed or Category 1
    High speed or Category 2

Add "with ethernet" to the end if you have a device that supports that function over HDMI and you want to use it , note that no-one needs this , but if you want to use it then get a "with ethernet" one.

There is no special cable needed for 3D
    There is no special cable needed for ARC either.

If its short , thats 8 meters or less , then get the cheapest you can find , if you want longer than that , then spend a bit more.
  5. scriminjer

scriminjer Member

Ratings:
    +3
    The 1.3/1.4 argument is clearly one that's going to be done until death. You do also need the cable version 1.4 for the audio return channel.

This is the means by which the audio from say the TV tuner can travel back to say a bluray player and out to the sound system from the bluray player. It simply removes the need for another cable to go from TV to bluray player. The same applies to the ethernet function.