1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is a Chimney Breast part of a supporting structure?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by KhalJimbo, May 18, 2009.

1. KhalJimbo

KhalJimbo Member

Ratings:
    +784
    Hi Guys

I might have stumbled across a gold mine here and have the oppurtunity to a full home renovation on my folks house. I have planned everything so far with regards to what I am going to be doing and how I want it to look and new windows and where to brick up doors.

But where I would want to do the floating wall there is a chimney breast, how do I know if it is a supporting structure? If it is, can it be removed and if so how much would I be looking at?
  2. bodoman

bodoman Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,435
    Surely if you are carrying out such an extensive renovation you have drawings of the house or can get access to them.

I work in construction and you have me worried that you have to ask this on here instead of researching it first, nearly all the disaters in home renovation have been caused by well meaning amateurs and quite often with very serious consequences.

Generally the chimney breast cannot be removed without taking the whole structure down from the chimney pots down to the ground, no mean feat.

Sorry if i come across as a bit harsh, but please take professional advice before doing anything, good luck:)
  3. KhalJimbo

KhalJimbo Member

Ratings:
    +784
    Of course I'm not going to do any of that stuff myself, I'll get builders to do it all, just wondered if it was or wasnt
  4. bodoman

bodoman Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,435
    Phew, you had me worried, i thought you really would end up as Jim the Legend when it all came crashing down:eek:
    As a guide look at the way the ceiling joist run, which is easy to see if bedroom has floor boards, if the floor boards run parallel to the wall the chimney beast is on, it is a supporting wall.