1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Humax Freesat Foxsat HD sound problems

Discussion in 'Freesat' started by darquestar, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. darquestar

    darquestar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have recently bought a Humax Freesat HD box FOXSATHD-G and have two issues with sound.

    The main problem is when changing channels the audio stutters quite badly as it switches over which is very annoying, this happens whether I use the arrow buttons or type in the channel number directly.

    Also when using the arrow buttons to navigate the EPG sometimes you can clearly hear a clicking sound every time you press.

    Could my problems relate to 1) incorrect sound settings 2) faulty HDMI lead 3) faulty box 4) none of the above

    Would appreciate any help.
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,371
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,067
    You don't say how your HD box is connected to the TV. If the audio is sent over hdmi it could be a problem with the TV whilst it locks on to the digital audio stream. You could try connecting your audio seperate from HDMI depending on what options your TV has for associating an hdmi port with a different sound input.
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,371
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,067
    To try and find the source of the problem try temp connecting via scart instead of HDMI to see if the problems still there.
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,371
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,067
    As the analogue sound coming over the scart is derived from the same source it's unlikely that the problem lies with the foxsat as you don't appear to have any video problems over hdmi. I guess you don't have another hdmi source to try with the TV. Have you tried all the hdmi inputs on the TV ?
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,371
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,067
    How wierd about the lead it must be a very poor hdmi lead, never seen a lead that would not at least goto 1080i. Any idea as to what sound the blueray player outputs to the Tv over hdmi ? The TV is likely to feature at least one hdmi input with a S/Pdif digital input. If so try the the Foxsat S/Pdif output.
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,371
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,067
    Just had a look at the manual for your TV you are right it does not have a s/pdif for a hdmi but it does have a analogue audio input for HDMI2 (it's marked DVI audio in) this is to allow HD video from a DVI computer using a DVI to HDMI adaptor (DVI is hdmi without sound). Try connecting the foxsat to hdmi2 and a pair of audio leads from the foxsat hd rca outlets. Don't think you can turn off sound over hdmi on the foxsat, but you normally can select which sound you hear with the TV menus for HDMI2 (Can't see this in the TV menus though). If the hdmi sound takes auto preference frankly run out of ideas :confused:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page