1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How To Erase MiniDV Tapes Quickly ?

Discussion in 'Camcorders & Video Editing' started by Gliese 581c, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,783
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +482
    Hi all, is there a way to erase a mini dv tape quickly from inside the camcorder or controlled from a PC ?

    Takes too long to record nothing over the top of whats already on there.

    I have a Sony DCR-PC8E that I need to sell on and need to blank the tapes quickly.
  2. chrishull3

    chrishull3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +255
    there is no way to erase mini dv tape only record over used tape.why do you need to blank tapes to sell the cam when you can give the buyer a new tape.
    if you want to put them by a magnetic field as has been said may wipe them but i would never a tape in my cam again that had such a process.
  3. senu

    senu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,353
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,978
    No

    Well you can leave them in overnight.. or before you go off to work..Recording over them is better though..you don't want to wear out the camcorders heads and mechanism just "erasing" them

    Why? even if the camcorder goes, are the tapes not an archive of your previous effort?. I'm sure you don't intend to sell the tapes as well:eek:!

    Have a read

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=637308
  4. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,783
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +482
    Thanks guys, I didnt think there was a way but thought I'd post on the off chance.

    Senu, tapes have already been edited, and burnt to DVD.
  5. senu

    senu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,353
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,978
    No worries .. Just reuse them;)
    In some cases if the edited footage is precious enough you can write it (ie the edited version) back to tape.. as it is ultimately more ""secure" than DVD..
  6. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,783
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +482
    Quite agree, I would have kept them but I now have the Sony SR8, with it being HDD driven the tapes are no use to me anymore.
  7. senu

    senu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,353
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,978
    You never know.. HDD fails you know .. you might find your "old" taped recordings suddenly becoming very precious!:rotfl:
  8. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,783
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +482
    :laugh:

    Too late now though. Only 2 tapes left to go.

    Just watch your tapes deteriorate over time and my HDD still pristine :rotfl:
  9. ctcrm

    ctcrm Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    you can purchase devices to wipe tapes from cctv/security wholesalers or maplins i think...

    regs covering cctv systems require that tpaes are completly wiped before they are recorded on again... of course this never happens and becoming irrelavent with the uptake of dvr multiplexers but there are devices out there for such tasks.
  10. senu

    senu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,353
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,978
    In your dreams mate ,HDDs crash / fail and carefully kept tapes last ( Ok not forever , but almost!)

    Do they exist for miniDV tapes though?..
  11. chrishull3

    chrishull3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +255
    i cant think why arcams tapes need be wiped even if he is changing formats.
  12. senu

    senu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,353
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,978
    He's got dodgy :censored:footage on them, thats why!:oops: :rotfl:
  13. chrishull3

    chrishull3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +255
    :thumbsup:
    you are awful but i like you:clap:::
  14. chrishull3

    chrishull3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +255
    :thumbsup:
  15. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,783
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +482
    :rotfl:

    What you all like.

    I only take respectable good clean fun footage.;)

    All tapes now erased.
  16. red bihozkabe

    red bihozkabe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is a couple of cases you need an empty tape: :lesson:
    -if you hit the "search blank" some cameras have, it takes you to the last place you ended recording. if the tape is not empty it may take you to the end of the film.
    -when you import your videos to the PC. if it's not empty it will import the newly recorded clips AND the old ones. personally i don't want to keep stopping manually the import and deleting extra videos each time.

    here's the question: if you wipe the tapes with magnets will them work again? did anyone try?
  17. chrishull3

    chrishull3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +255
    Well i am not getting into that,i have never wiped tapes only reused 2 or three times at most in my Tape days,this link shows haw this site has changed in the past few years.:rolleyes:
  18. doug_1986

    doug_1986 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +102
    Pretty old thread this!


    But yes, tapes can be wiped using machines with magnets and be perfectly usable. Pro format tapes are expensive (Digibeta / HDCam / HDCamSR / etc), so old un-needed tapes are regularly wiped and used for 'lesser' jobs (known as 'gash' tapes). See Tapechek professional videotape care equipment.


    Have no idea about a DIY solution though, but the theory is clearly there :thumbsup:
  19. MarkE19

    MarkE19 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    15,561
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,025
    Yes & Yes ;)

    I work in IT and we regularly degaussed our backup tapes and then reused them with no issues. I of course made use of the equipment to wipe a few of my MiniDV tapes, although I never really had a requirement for this as I never reused tapes - so this was just as a test.

    Mark.
  20. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72 Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,054
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +522
    Bulk erasers are just a large transformer with one end of the cage missing, giving a huge magnetic field. Switch them on and wipe the tape through it and it will be blank. I know, I used to work for a company who made them!

    No issue with re-using it, the magnetic flux will cause no damage to the tape, only realigning the magnetic particles.

    This is why so many old TV programs are missing, as the tapes were wiped for re-use, due to storage and tape costs.
  21. Emerton

    Emerton Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Haha, so it's all your fault :)
  22. chrishull3

    chrishull3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +255
    What is the point of erasing when dv like vhs/8mm etc tapes before them can just recorded over for reuse.

Share This Page