Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to connect set top box to Receiver (e.g. Marantz SR7200)

Discussion in 'Integrated Amplifiers & Receivers' started by GarethG, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. GarethG

    GarethG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    For my new set up I will have

    Pioneer PDP 508 XD plasma

    Marantz SR7200 receiver.

    and a new PVR/set top box -variuos options of video output.

    Ideally, as long as it does not deteriorate the pic quality I would like to use the receiver to switch the video from the PVR.

    It has inputs for
    composite
    S Video
    Component
    HDMI

    which is the best way to connect to the receiver for it then to be converted to HDMI (then using the plasma to upscale)

    would this effect pic quality?

    Is there a particular output I should look for on the PVR?
    Thanks
  2. GarethG

    GarethG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    also if anyone could tell me the difference between those connections I would be grateful.

    Got the installation guy coming tomorrow so please!
  3. sp_harris

    sp_harris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    572
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +65
    The connections usually dictate the quality of signal being sent. Order with best first and worst last would be:

    HDMI
    Component
    S Video

    You might get a better response if you post which make and model of PVR/set top box you are getting?
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,550
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +225
    Do you have the Marantz SR7200 or Marantz SR7002? :)
  5. GarethG

    GarethG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Its the 7002 -the new one.

    The set top box -I will be guided by this really, if I need to find a particular output etc.

    Think, although I don't really understand it, I have found that the Topfield does component out. Could I use this, with a component SCART to component lead to AV receiver -HDMI to plasma?

    Would this work?

    Would this be as good as the set top box direct to plasma?

    Would not use the AV to upscale just convert.
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,550
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +225
    I'd go into the AV receiver from your PVR box using component if possible although I use S-Video on mine for various reasons. All of your other video components should also go into the AV receiver (most other bits will be HDMI these days) and then just run the single HDMI cable from your AV receiver to your plasma.

    This way, whenever you switch input on the AV receiver it will switch both sound and video which is nice and simple; particularly for less technically minded household members. :)
  7. GarethG

    GarethG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  8. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,550
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +225
    S-Video is worse than component, but not that much worse.

    It depends on which STB you go for in the end but I think that cables actually goes the wrong way - ie. from component into scart rather than from scart into component. Best to check with the supplier on that one as I don't think they're the same. :)

    <- goes to check
  9. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,550
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +225
    Looks like that cable should be just fine. :)

Share This Page