Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to check the signal strength?

Discussion in 'PlayStation Network' started by chunkiesgrweat, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. chunkiesgrweat

    chunkiesgrweat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

    I was just wondering. I am having problems with being timed out of the playstation network.

    So the question is where or how do i check the signal stength to the PS3. I can not really see this a problem as the router sits about a meter away from the PS3.

    Any help would be appricated.
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,374
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,491
    If the PS3 and router are 1 metre apart why are you connecting wirelessly?
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Munckles

    Munckles Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    You can find the signal strength under the connection status menu...but as above, why are you going wireless when the PS3 and router are only 1m apart?
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. chunkiesgrweat

    chunkiesgrweat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the replys guys.

    That is a very good question. I don't really know. I suppose I should change it to a wired connection to see if that makes a difference.
  5. videonasty

    videonasty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,253
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +38
    I've just hooked up my PS3 to my wireless Sky router. The strength is 82%. Is that good enough to start online gaming?
  6. Munckles

    Munckles Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    That's a more than adequate signal strength IMO.
    When I had my PS3 connected wirelessly my signal strength was about 65% and I never had any issues.

    The only thing I would say is occasionally I would get thrown out of an online game with a message saying that I had no signal. When I checked the signal strength it was showing 65% so I was a bit baffled, until one day I was staring at the signal strength and it was slightly fluctuating between 65 - 70% but every now and then it would drop down to 0% for a split second before going back up to 65%.

    What i'm trying to say is 82% is fine but be aware that depending on the environment surrounding your router and your PS3 a wireless connection is hardly ever 100% constant so you still may experience the odd loss of signal every now and then.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. videonasty

    videonasty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,253
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +38
    Thanks for the info. One more question. I had to change some settings on my Sky router using the 198. etc address. How do I know everything is secure, or have I got nothing to worry about?
  8. Moogle

    Moogle Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,749
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,448
    It's baffling to me why you're using wireless as well when you would be better off using a wired connec tion. My PS3 is about the same distance away from my router and whilst the connection was fine when I had it on wireless initially I now use a wired connection. If you have the option it's always better to go with a wired connection.
  9. Munckles

    Munckles Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    With regards to viruses etc, there are no known cases as yet as far as I am aware. As the PS3 does not use an OS like Windows they say the PS3 is secure (although IMO nothing is ever totally secure). I know plenty of people who have put their router into DMZ (lowest security) who have never had a problem.

    Just make sure you've locked down your router so no-one else in your area can piggyback your bandwidth.
  10. videonasty

    videonasty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,253
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +38
    How do I lock down my router?
  11. Mickus

    Mickus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,072
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +347
    Enable WPA or WEP security.
  12. videonasty

    videonasty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,253
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +38
    Done, thanks:smashin:
  13. kendoll

    kendoll Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,781
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +561
    You could also use MAC address filtering to restrict connections to your router.
  14. chunkiesgrweat

    chunkiesgrweat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks all for your help.

    I have got it wired now. But i still get the same problem so i think that the problem may well be my provider.

    so tomorrow i will search for a new provider and quit pipex :eek:.

    thanks all agian
  15. Munckles

    Munckles Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Ah, Pipex...that explains everything. You should have mentioned that at the beginning!

    Wired is still the way to go though....:smashin:
  16. Sulley75

    Sulley75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +43
    Daft question but do u only get a signal strength if you are wireless? I am wired and cannot find it...

    Thanks.:oops:
  17. Moogle

    Moogle Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,749
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,448
    There is no need for a signal strenght when you have a wired connection as there is no signal to find the strenght on. Signal refers to the wireless transmission quality so it's not an issue with a wired connection.
  18. Sulley75

    Sulley75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +43
    I had a funny feeling as soon as i posted that it was a daft question, i should have known.

    Cheers. :suicide:

Share This Page