How can I get two subwoofers in stereo?

Wirefire

Standard Member
Reaction score
Feel free to hit me to the back of my head if this is the wrong area (or if this has been answered, didn't find anything by searching), but I figured you guys might be able to answer my rather weird question.

Since my puny Tangent EVO E5s (while being very decent computer speakers especially for the money) lack some boom, oomph and thump where it's required, I thought that perhaps I could wire two 10" subwoofers to go with the stereo speakers to enhance the bass. Now I have no experience with crossovers, subwoofer amplifiers and the such, but I was thinking of D.I.Y subwoofers to keep the costs down (I'm not ridiculously picky about the quality, just a tad choosy), preferably under 300$ for the subwoofer elements themselves and then some for the amps. If I have to replace my Onkyo TX SR507 I'm fine with that. I understand this can get a bit expensive, but since I'm intending to stick with standmounters, this seems to be a fun project that'll enhance the bass of not only my EVOs, but all of my future PC speakers (Wharfedale Diamond 10.1s?) too!

Sorry for the rambling. So my point is to have two small subwoofers in stereo + the standmounter stereo speakers themselves. Do I need to have an amplifier that has two outputs for left and right speakers (I believe this is called multi-room or something?) for this?

Thanks for your time!

Hi and welcome to the forum :hiya:

having 2 subs doesn`t make them stereo, stereo is a dedication of 2 separate left and right channels whereas the sub channel is a dedicated sub frequency mono channel.

You can have 2 to give you a bit more oomph as you say and you could expect an increase in output of 3-6 db. This is easily achievable by simply splitting the sub out from your amp using a RCA splitter and running both cables to each individual sub.

HTH Al :smashin: