Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hisense media player

Discussion in 'Streamers & Network Media Players' started by Subliminal Aura, Sep 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Looks like a lot of media players are starting to mature now...

    Anyone know much about the Hisense ?

    Thanks :)
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. 24 P

    24 P Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +276
  3. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
  4. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2009
  5. 24 P

    24 P Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +276
    This is to my knowledge, that a Major company has released a media player.
    By major player I am meaning out side of the PC industry, WD, Netgear have released them, Oplay and other unknowns, too many unknowns is the problem..

    If this player is a good player, hopefully other companies will follow suit. Meaning better support, cheaper price, better build quality..

    Fingers xed.

    :thumbsup:
  6. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Crossing my toes too - The mips processor doesn't woo me... taking the plunge :eek:
  7. 24 P

    24 P Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +276
    I did a blind buy from some vendor off a different forum, I was told it could play Blus and Reds, it played Blus but only MTS2 files, no menu, nadda..
    Reds it wouldn't play at all, I forget the player, M31B??
    It was one of the worse players I have used, it was slow, very slow, so slow it was slower than my 3 year old Mediagate 350 HD which works great..
    I sent the player back in 2 days..

    I only use PCs now for media playback..

    Unless something comes out which can do everything..

    :thumbsup:
  8. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Yeah, it's one of those dilemmas PC or good looking underspeced media streamer.

    I have a nice media server built from a shuttle with DXVA working great but I just don't have the heart to put it in the living room.

    We'll see how this pans out, I'll let you guys know how I get on.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    A little bit of speculation here ...

    Digging around we think that it's a RTD1073 clone of the AC Ryan Play!on

    Looking at the potential of flashing the firmware too :clap:
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2009
  10. 24 P

    24 P Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +276
    Unsuual that it would be a clone, but essentialliy there are a lot out there that are.
    Hisense would be able to buy AC Ryan Play many times over...

    Still look forward to your review..

    :thumbsup:
  11. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Well the chipsets are so similar.

    I compared the firmwares for the Asus O!play and this device (Officially known as the MP800H)

    The kernels differ ever so slightly - audio identical - video slightly different.

    All superficial differences tbh and very hackable. The user interface is clearly visible and is chinese breed. I don't see why it's not possible to easily cook a new firmware.

    The AC Ryan Playon! HD is a bit more 'happening' with it's busybox shell but again all these boxes hook the same/similar hardware.

    Should be fun developing on it. Twitter client anyone ?:)
  12. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
  13. 24 P

    24 P Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +276
    I read it too, I made me laugh too, I like the,
    Then the waffle about why they think, the company, why their product is better by doing side by side comparisons...

    Then to my amazement....
    Well at least they are not selling Dictionaries... :rotfl:

    :thumbsup:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Well, I'm impressed as really I purchased this box in the hope that I can prove it's similar hardware to the O!play

    OK let's get the uglies out of the way.

    - A little larger than I expected
    - The remote - OH DEAR ! :rolleyes:
    - cpu load a little high but did not impact viewing

    The pluses.

    - I was worried they would send a far east power adapter but it's a nice UK one :)
    - Early tests have been good with 720p h.264 mkvs

    Essentially playing the mkvs I see network speeds of 10-15mbps BUT fast forward through the file and the net speed shoots up to 25mbps, surprisingly the hisense had no problems with this :clap:

    telnet into the box as root (no password) and I got an ash shell WOOT WOOT WOOT image attached. Not sure what the 'venus' prompt is all about

    /proc # uptime
    01:48:48 up 51 min, load average: 1.49, 1.27, 0.96
    /proc # uptime
    01:55:56 up 58 min, load average: 1.43, 1.33, 1.08

    /proc # cat /proc/cpuinfo
    system type : Realtek Venus
    processor : 0
    cpu model : MIPS 24K V7.8
    BogoMIPS : 269.51
    wait instruction : yes
    microsecond timers : yes
    tlb_entries : 32
    extra interrupt vector : yes
    hardware watchpoint : yes
    ASEs implemented : mips16
    VCED exceptions : not available
    VCEI exceptions : not available

    Webserver
    /etc # more httpd.conf
    #Allow address from 172.20.*.*
    #A:172.20.
    #Deny from other IP connections
    #D:*
    #No need account to access cgi
    /cgi-bin::
    #You need root account to access "adm" pages. See here: [BusyBox] busybox httpd
    #If you need to store password here, enable "CONFIG_FEATURE_HTTPD_AUTH_MD5"
    #/adm:root:
    #The second account to access "adm" pages
    #/adm:nobody:

    Obviously needs to be investiged

    I'm afraid I can't play with this for at least a few more days due to contracts - I'll try to push some real files at it.

    Finally I was poking around the net last night for links to firmware and think these might be candidates...

    ftp://upgrade:ugrade@www.kboox.com/

    DO NOT ASSUME THESE ARE CORRECT LINKS I WILL NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY IF YOU BRICK YOUR DEVICE AS I'VE NOT TRIED THEM MYSELF

    Overall ...

    It's a bargain 75quid inc delivery if you use a voucher plus you get an additional 15quid voucher

    Lovely

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 1, 2009
  15. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    I decided to take the plunge with the unoffical firmware

    MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar dated 30th September :D

    OMG !!!!! What bliss !

    DVDplayer is updated to play DVD menus, subtitles toggle and playback is perfect ... I couldn't drag myself away from the box.

    720p, 1080p, bluray native played flawlessly .. I also noticed a marked increase in network throughput ~ 45mbps compared to 30mbps before.

    I thought I have made a mistake in buying this over the o!play ... not no more :)

    :thumbsup:

    ps I still haven't figured out how to hack it fully yet :rolleyes:
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  16. 24 P

    24 P Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,642
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +276
    couple of Q's, does it play imaged BRs? and what about HD DVDs? anything news on them??

    :thumbsup:
  17. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Tried one BR iso and it didn't work - I'm not sure what format it was... I'll have a look around to see what I've got... I've been pretty relaxed with the delete button lately :eek:

    I'll see if I can get hold of said file(Z) - or recommend me a few to queue up :D
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. harry66

    harry66 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    Hi,
    I just ordered one of these - was gonna get an O!play but they seem to be out of stock at reasonable prices.

    Where do I get the latest firmware - the link in the earlier post does not work?

    Thanks!
  19. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91

    Hi Harry,

    My appolgies for the late reply...

    Here's the link to the firmware that I used : ftp://upgrade:upgrade@www.kboox.com/MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar

    Remember to do a checksum here's the one I used :

    root@theta:/disk4/_scratch_shared# md5sum MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar
    947a55e9ae81d255a0f66ac133d3dcb6 MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar


    After flashing the language defaults to Chinese so just remember where the language options are in the menu for switching to Engish ;)

    I've also noticed the link being down a few times but eventually you'll get it.

    And please remember that flashing your firmware will invalidate your warranty and potentially brick your device but we're all adults ;)
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. harry66

    harry66 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thanks for the reply - much appreciated.:thumbsup:

    EDIT (RTFM to myself!)

    The link worked and I got the file - but it is an .ISO file - the manual says rename to .img file and copy to the root of the USB drive and then select Upgrade. I guess this is the way to go?

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
  21. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Hi Harry,

    I think it's a rar file ... drag and drop it into winrar and click to extract install.img....

    Move install.img to the root of a spare usb drive and connect to the HiSense then select the upgrade option somewhere in the menus ;) :-o



    Cheers.
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
  22. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    Hahhahah :rotfl:

    That made me laugh :)

    I was faced with the same problem ... I copied and pasted the PDF into google translate :devil:

    Now the risky bit... Should I flash or not ? Essentially I did not know if the new firmware supported English and I was too lazy to look inside

    Took the risk and it paid off .. Bit lucky though :suicide:
  23. harry66

    harry66 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thanks for the reply - I just worried when the.rar unpacked to an .ISO file which is normally something you burn to a CD - and the manual mention .img file!

    My player just arrived at work - looking forward to checking it out tonight!

    Also, just wondering what NAS drive you have - I have a QNap TS101 - this is the main reason I am upgrading from a WDTV to the Hisense - will save swapping the USB drives around.

    Bit shocked to discover the Hisense is not Gigabit ethernet but neither is the O!Play. Have you played 1080p MKV over the network - is it smooth?
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
  24. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    OK This is strange ... Make sure you do a md5sum to check that the file you have is the same as the one I used.

    Check my earlier posts.

    Right click - extract rar file to should be it ?

    I'll check if the file differs from the one I used
  25. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    The file is the same as before

    root@ultra:/disk4/_scratch_shared# md5sum MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar
    947a55e9ae81d255a0f66ac133d3dcb6 MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar


    root@ultra:/disk4/_scratch_shared# unrar t !$
    unrar t MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar

    Contents

    UNRAR 3.70 beta 3 freeware Copyright (c) 1993-2007 Alexander Roshal


    Testing archive MP800H_upgrade_code_V040.rar

    Testing install.img OK
    Testing ææ°å
    容说æ.pdf OK
    All OK
  26. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    My data is on good old fashioned servers. These cheap NAS drives don't have enough processing power to do data syncing. For example I have 3 Terabytes of core data that is backed up over the network and it takes only 10 minutes to the check the data :cool: A NAS would take hours.

    gigabit ? What do you need gigabit for ? 40-50mbps is what you need for the most demanding video files.

    Also the limiting factor to network speed is the processor/disk speeds ... No point having gigabit network if the processor and disk speeds can only handle a fraction of it's true potential
  27. harry66

    harry66 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    Wow - thanks for the response - I will double check when I get home.

    Maybe I am a remembering the extension wrong - .img / .iso both disc image type extensions...DOH!

    Apologies in advance if it is a .img file at home - I always get a bit nervous when doing firmware upgrades etc...ie anything that can risk bricking something.

    So, is this an official firmware or some hacked version? I tried searching the Hisense website but nothing apart from the user manual.

    I did a fair bit of Googling and Binging but could not find much useful info on firmwares etc.
  28. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    No worries mate.

    Yes you're right - This is definitely not official firmware.

    I would recommend you play with the HiSense using it's stock firmware and seeing how you get on first.

    I searched for MP800H firmware - Google Search

    This is the reason why I provided the md5sum for you to cross reference before you flashed the box. If the md5sum matches the one I used then you might have a better 'survival' rate :eek:

    TBH The hardware is virtually identical to the O!play albeit we don't have much going in terms of firmware support.

    Maybe just maybe it could be possible to flash the HiSense with O!play firmware but I would need to really look at it in detail. Typically I've seen the scripts that flash the ROM at specific memory addresses - Just need to confirm that the same thing is going on with the O!play

    However if I'm honest with you ... I'm perfectly happy with the firmware that I've got on the HiSense... I'm only going to be playing 720p mkvs anyway :)

    Let us know how you get on and whether you like the box. Seems like I'm alone in here with everyone else going O!play and xtreamer :eek:
  29. harry66

    harry66 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    I did like the idea of the xtreamer but the noisy fan was a definite no and I didnt want to faff around replacing the fan etc. I nearly ordered the O!Play from Scan last week but chickened out at the checkout:D and now they are out of stock there.
    I also had a £5 Expansys voucher which meant I got free delivery for the Hisense and hopefully the £15 voucher they are giving away may prove useful.
  30. Subliminal Aura

    Subliminal Aura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +91
    BINGO ! I did exactly the same :smashin:

    Yes the xtreamer *should* be the better machine but something is just not right about it. If a company like Asus decided to use the 1073 chipset (like did others) in favour over xtreamer's 1283 then something must be amiss.

    The Xtreamer needs a lot more development imho and there's only one company afaik backing it. Had more companies been using this platform and it were more open for development I would have gone with them.

    Look on the bright side, the HiSense is the same hardware as the other 1073s at a knock down price, perfect for early adopters, especially if we have to throw this box out during an upgrade later on ;)
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page