1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi Guys; Newbie Here, Welcome Opinions/Advice on my HTPC Build

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by BeanheadUK, Feb 27, 2012.

1. BeanheadUK

BeanheadUK Member

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Guys,

Have been researching through the forums for a while now and I have managed to spec up what I'm looking to buy soon for my HTPC.

This would be purely to view hi def video, not looking for anything to play games on.

Would welcome any advice/opinions on the spec:

Case - Silverstone GD05B Grandia (Black)
    PSU - Be Quiet BN181 Pure Power L8 530W Modular Power Supply (PSU)
    Mobo - Asus E35M1-I DELUXE
    CPU - On Board Integrated AMD Hudson M1
    RAM - Corsair Memory XMS3 8GB DDR3 1333 Mhz CAS 9 Dual Channel
    HDD - OCZ Technology 64GB Octane SSD - Solid State Drive
    OS - Windows 7 (64 Bit)
    Audio - On Board?
    Video - On Board?

Uses

I'm hoping to use this purely as an entertainment PC, e.g. 1080p movies and audio. Is the above a good starter for 10 or is there anything I need to change?

I have an external 1.5TB HDD as well with all my movies, music, TV etc, but hoping to upgrade to some on board HDDs, also have an optical drive available.

Also, how good would the mobo be for future addition of Graphics card or audio cards?

Any advice/opinion would be much appreciated.
  2. BeanheadUK

BeanheadUK Member

Ratings:
    +2
    Hmm, just realised for a bit more I could go for the Asus E45M1-I DELUXE, which has slightly better CPU/RAM speeds but all importantly supports HDMI 1.4a
  3. m0t0k0

m0t0k0 Member

Ratings:
    +99
    The build looks good. 8GB of RAM is overkill but RAM is cheap so why not!

Other than supporting 3D I don't think 1.4a is going to give you any benefit so if you want 3D a must and it does give the ability to adopt 3D at a later date.