1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed for a novice to choose which speaker cables to buy for homecinema setup

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by jav123, Aug 31, 2009.

1. jav123

jav123 Member

Ratings:
    +7
    first of all i just like to say its my first time on here and posting.:hiya:and the forum looks very helpfull and educational.

i need to buy some speaker cables for the 7.1 home cinema setup that i am going to create. the maximum i can spend on the fronts and centre speaker cable is going to be £3.00 per metre and for the surrounds £2.00 per metre so i would like your expertise advise and opinions on which cables to buy.

the speakers im definetley going to buy for the fronts and centre are Gale aria ar70 from richersounds, and for the surrounds i currently have my yamaha nsp210 surround speaker kit so i will be using these satellite speakers just for surround for the time being, but then will be upgrading to some small book shelf or decent satellite speakers. (i havent bought the amp yet, but the max i will be willing to spend would be £300.00)

i have narrowed down the cables i have been looking to buy and for the fronts these are:
    QED silver micro @ £3.08 p/m
    QED original @ £2.40 p/m
    Gale/Cambridge audio symphony 400 @ £2.00 p/m (richersounds sell these on there web site as cambridge audio)
    Cambridge audio ultra micro @ £2.50 p/m

for the surrounds these are:
    QED micro speaker cable @ £1.36 p/m
    Gale/Cambridge audio symphony 200 @ £0.99 p/m(richersounds sell these on there web site as cambridge audio)
    Gale/Cambridge audio symphony 300 @ £1.49 p/m(richersounds sell these on there web site as cambridge audio)

please can you reccommend and advise me on which cables to buy.
    thanks and regards jav
  2. Star Man

Star Man Member

Ratings:
    +12
  3. mrbenn

mrbenn Member

Ratings:
    +97
  4. jav123

jav123 Member

Ratings: