Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP Anyone clued up with crb checks and old criminal records

Discussion in 'General Chat Forum' started by kopchoir, Sep 12, 2008.

1. kopchoir

kopchoir Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +4,105
    Before we start im no ronnie biggs:D

Hi I wonder if anyone out there can help me finished my last day today at work and due to start my uni course,for those of you who dont know i have been a nurse for the last seven and a half years.
    Whilst applying for my course in the health setting you have to for go a crb check its standard if you want to work in the profession i want to work in, i must have had a crb check in 2001 when i joined the nhs :confused: but i dont remember,anyway my crb for my uni course has taken almost 8 weeks to come through, during this time i had to hand my notice in without proper clearance, my crb came through this morning with a section 47 in january 2000 and my caution was placed on file in february 2000 over 8 years ago and almost 9 years ago i was 19 at the time and did something silly its classed as a common assault, assault occasioning actual bodily harm is its correct meaning when i was brought in by the local constabulary after i explained it was just a slap on the wrists but it has cropped up on my crb today will this affect my student position or not as i have handed in my notice and have no job :suicide:
    any help would be great i have checked the net but its not clear
    regards
    simon
  2. Gilli01

Gilli01 Member

Ratings:
    +27
    CRB Checks and criminal records are tricky. You're damned if you do and you're damned if you dont.

A section 39 is a common assault, Section 47 is an assault occasioning actual bodily harm. You'll have probably been arrested on suspicion of a S47 but when it came to charging it was dropped to a s39.