Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI to VGA

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards & Internal Video Devices' started by Irene, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. Irene

    Irene Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi there,
    I am ready to buy a Panasonic 42pz85b, it has a VGA slot to connect a pc and my pc has a HDMI slot on the graphics card, the plasma has got 3 HDMI slots but I will be using them for other stuff could anyone tell me the best way to connect them, could I get a HDMI to VGA lead or a HDMI to VGA converter and would any of them carry sound. Sorry about the long post but I'm not very well clued up on this.
    Thanks
    Irene
    ps I also posted this question on the plasma flat panel forum hope that's ok.
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,374
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,491
    1. VGA does not carry sound
    2. HDMI to VGA only via a converter
    3. If your PC has a DVI output you can normally use a DVI to VGA adapter.
    4. DVI and VGA do not carry sound.
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand Active Member Assured Advertiser

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    18,712
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,849
  4. un1eash

    un1eash Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,239
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +517
    I would go the hdmi switcher route. This is what ive done, i have my sky-hd, PS3 and hd-dvd player going through a switcher to hdmi1 on the tv. I then have my pc connected to hdmi2 on the tv.

    This gives me full 1080p resolutions(vga doesnt) 1:1 pixel mapping and also my HD4870 carrys sound over a single cable.

    What graphics card does your pc have?
  5. Irene

    Irene Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi there,
    My graphics card is a G Force 8400 GS but it has a HDMI slot instead of DVI which is a bit strange, my plasma will be wall mounted where would the HDMI switcher go, told you I was dense :(.
    Thanks
    Irene

Share This Page