Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDD from a Panasonic DMR-EH60 hard-drive recorder

Discussion in 'Hard Disks & Memory' started by FaceAche, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. FaceAche

    FaceAche New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone

    I've got an older HDD recorder, a Panasonic DMR-EH60 - it's not a high-def recorder, and i've basically no use for it anymore. But i thought i could pull the HDD out of it, and get some use out of this drive.

    The drive itself is a 200GB Western Digital WD2000 EIDE drive, specific model number WD2000BB-14GUC0.

    I've tried it in 3 different computers now, and can't get any of them to detect the drive within the BIOS. I'm part-way through a CompTIA A+ course (with a view to carrying on with CCNA and then MCITP), and my tutor believes it's because it's probably been formatted in a non-standard, i.e not NTFS, kind of file system.

    He doesn't seem to think that there is any way to reformat the drive, but it just seems such a waste of what would otherwise be a decent 200GB drive, so i thought i'd sign up here and see what you guys thought about it :)

    I've tried it with an IDE cable, various jumper settings. I've also tried it with an EIDE-to-SATA converter via a SATA controller on the motherboard of my own home PC - no joy. There's 2 SATA controllers on this mobo, and both are fine, as both work fine with my boot drive.

    So i'm at a bit of a loss really - anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. maf1970

    maf1970 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +256
    If you are connecting this drive in a machine that already has a boot volume then you need to set the jumpers on the drive to make it a slave. Also give it a power connection as well.
    When you start the machine up does the drive spin up ? (You can hear it)
    Assuming that it is windows you are using -
    Control Panel ----> Administrative Tools ------> Computer Management
    Then choose storage followed by disk management
    If the drive is registering it should appear in the window on the right.

    BTW it easier to use one of these to test a drive rather than open up your case.
    2.5/3.5 SATA IDE to USB Adapter Cable for Hard Disk HDD: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    15,868
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,083
    If the HDD is not detected by the BIOS then the way it is formatted will have nothing to do with you not being able to see it. The BIOS is only aware of the physical hardware, it has no way of reading the data on the HDD and therefore wont care what file system it is formatted to.
    As it is an IDE HDD I would manually set the jumper to make it a slave or master HDD rather than rely on cable select - jumper settings for WD IDE HDD's can be found on page 2 of this pdf - http://www.wdc.com/en/library/eide/2579-001037.pdf

    I would say that if the HDD is connected correctly and is not detected by the BIOS then it is most likely faulty.

    Mark.
  4. FaceAche

    FaceAche New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the responses guys.

    I'm using Windows XP Home. The drive doesn't appear to spin up no matter what type of connection i use, be it IDE, or SATA via the IDE-to-SATA adaptor that i have. I can't hear it, and when i put my hand on it there is no vibration at all.

    But when i put it back into the Panansonic DMR-EH60, it works fine. Weird huh?

    If i am using the IDE-to-SATA adaptor to plug it in via a SATA controller, what would i need to set the jumper setting to? It has 'Slave', 'Master with Slave Present', 'Single or Master' and 'CS' jumper settings.

    I don't have a spare IDE cable, but i'll power-down and use one of the CD-RW or DVD-ROM connections to try it, and set it as Slave via the jumpers. Maybe also give it another go with the IDE-to-SATA adaptor.

    Will post how it goes once i'm back up (Yes, that IDE/SATA-to-USB adaptor looks rather handy right at the moment! :) )
  5. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,038
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +935
    Possibly has application specific firmware?
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    15,868
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,083
    You are connecting both the IDE ribbon cable and molex power to the HDD aren't you?
    If not then this is why the HDD isn't spinning up and being detected by the PC. The IDE cable does not carry power to a 3.5" HDD.

    Mark.
  7. cymode

    cymode New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panasonic will not allow you to use the Molex Cable from your PC oder USB/IDE Adapter. It seems like the molex cable in the HDD Recorder delivers a different voltage.
    Even if you hook up the IDE cable from the PC and the molex cable from the HDD Recorder, then the drive spins, but the PC still won't recognise it.

    Seems like the only way to get the movies off is to burn 100 DVDs and rip them again. From now on I will never ever again buy a HDD Recorder that does not allow copying to USB or NAS Drive! Panasonic is being extremely difficult here so that you can't replace the 200GB HDD with a 500GB, as they charged 4x more for the 500GB model, and it would only cost you a couple dollars to upgrade yourself.
  8. jdla

    jdla Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear,

    I'm having exactly the same problem on exactly the same DVD recorder.

    I absolutely need to rip off the data from the HDD (it was formatted by mistake).

    The HDD is a Samsung HA200JC and appears as a perfectly normal commercial one for PC's. But no way it got detected in my BIOS or an external enclosure.

    In my BIOS the model is recognized, but it doesn't get the geometry parameters, making it useless.

    Has someone meanwhile any idea what's going on ? It seems very unlikely Panasonic got custom drives. Therefore I'm reluctant to believe the voltage story. Would they (Panasonic) put other firmware on the disk ? If so is that removeable in a reversible way ?

    Desperately seeking for any clues.

    Jos
  9. jdla

    jdla Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I could finally resolve the issue by disabling the HDD in my BIOS and just boot into Linux.
    Linux happily recognizes the disk (but not the file format on it).
    I'm now recuperating the data from it.

    Jos

Share This Page