Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Half Life On Vista

Discussion in 'PC Gaming Forum' started by Dextur, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. Dextur

    Dextur Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Anybody tried running HL on Vista ?

    Friend is trying to run it now but which ever option she choses from the graphics menu, Software , Open GL or Hardware, she ends up getting a really appaling look to the game, very blocky etc.

    I can't test it at my place as I have XP, but wondered if anybody has had the problem and knows how to fix it ?

    I will just direct her to this thread if anybody has an easy fix.

    Thx

    Simon
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18,739
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    I have Half Life installed within Steam and have no problems running it on Vista Home Premium 32 Bit. I started in software and it ran fine. Changed the settings to OpenGL and again it ran without problem.

    Perhaps the problem could be the graphics driver? Perhaps look for the latest drivers for whatever card you have? Secondly is your friend playing from the disc or has she downloaded Steam and is playing though that. The latter option is the better because you'll get the latest version of the game suited to the OS.

    To get Steam goto the website at Steam Powered.
  3. Dextur

    Dextur Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,455

    She's just trying to play it from a CD not Steam no, but whenever she choses any of those options it looks appaling. It's so cheap now on Steam, I have advised her to take a look at just downloading HL and HL2 directly from there.

    Thanks anyway for the tip for letting me know.

    If you have two spare mins, I dont' suppose you could do a screen shot of the very first screen you see on HL when you load a new game could you?

    Your in a carriage with some metal sliding doors in front of you, just want to see what it should look like working correctly.

    I believe she does have the latest video driver yes, but will double check.
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18,739
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    It shouldn't cost anything - there is no need to rebuy it. Download Steam, goto the 'My Games' tab and select 'Activate a product on Steam...' and enter the key. Your copy of HL will then be tied to Steam (as well as enabling you to download all the free addons that accompany that classic game (TFC for example).
  5. Razor

    Razor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    36,884
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,034
    I run Half Life 2 on vista with no problems at all. :)

    Do as Rasczak says and connect to steam, this will update your copy of Half Life 2 to the latest version automatically.

    What res have you got the game running at? What spec is the pc?

    :)
  6. Dextur

    Dextur Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    PC is pretty decent, she's choosing the max res available in the graphics setup, was pretty low tbh, but the max available there.

    I'll direct her to this thread for the suggestions.

    Cheers again.
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18,739
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Is she using a widescreen monitor? If so has the 'widescreen' option been set? That could, I suppose, make things look blocky.
  8. Dextur

    Dextur Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Not in front of that PC, will need to ask her , I was there when we were trying it out can't say I saw a widescreen option, but tbh it was definatley more of a "CGA" type look, reminded me of looking at an old Quake game before GFX cards :p

    I've sent her an email with a link to this thread so she can take a look at the advice.

    Thx again.
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18,739
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    If you go down the Steam route you might find more resolutions are supported. The Steam interface gives alot more options than you get with the DVD version of the game.
  10. God's Toy

    God's Toy Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Using Vista Ultimate 32 and Half Life on steam here and it's fine, Is the game fully updated? If she loads it up on Steam she can auto update to the newest patch.
  11. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,035
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +671
    i had HL2 running fine on Vista 64bit using steam.....looked gorgeous :D


    that HDD isnt in the machine atm tho so i cant do a screenie, sorry...
  12. Tommy Angelo

    Tommy Angelo Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Simon, it might be best for her to take a screen shot or to take a picture of the screen so we can get an idea of the problem.
  13. God's Toy

    God's Toy Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
  14. Dextur

    Dextur Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Thanks all, in the end she got the download from Steam and all is working perfectly, it looks great. Thx for all your help.
  15. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    23,938
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,426
    I have the game running fine and it looks great but if I save the game then exit and then reload the save it wont run, it just comes up saying something about the A.I. being disabled :(
  16. Razor

    Razor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    36,884
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,034
    Strange. I havent had this at all? :confused:
  17. Tommy Angelo

    Tommy Angelo Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Type "half life AI disabled" without quotation marks into google.
  18. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    23,938
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,426
    Did exactly that after I posted and have since downloaded a different config file which has fixed the problem.
  19. Chaos

    Chaos Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2,940
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +286
    I got this game recently as it's one of the classic games I've been meaning to try for ages. £15 for this and episode one from Steam. I haven't felt this way about a game for so long. It's amazing.
  20. Dextur

    Dextur Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Truly a classic game, for me personally I had vastly more fun with HL1 than HL2, but both should be on everybodies play list. Sheer quality.
  21. Rasczak

    Rasczak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18,739
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    I think Valve made a mistake moving the Half Life series to 'episodic gaming'. Half Life and Half Life 2 were both classics - but Half Life 2:Episode 1, aside from having a long and bloated name, is so short it is forgetable.
  22. Razor

    Razor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    36,884
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,034
    They were meant to be releasing a new episode every few months along with Sin. As we can all see this never happened. Shame :thumbsdow
  23. Tejstar

    Tejstar Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,290
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,012
    Which is one of the main reasons I'm waiting for Episode Two, so that I can play both one and two back-to-back.
  24. undeadboll

    undeadboll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine runs but text is messed up

Share This Page