1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

google toolbar in IE 11

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by springgranddad4, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've installed google toolbar for IE 11, but it doesn't remember my browsing history. If I try to change this, I get a window with:
    'an error has occurred in the script on this page.
    Line 56
    Char 76
    Error. Unable to get property 'checked' of undefined or null reference.
    Code 0
    Then some gobbledegook, then
    Do you want to continue running scripts on this page?
    yes or no.
    Anybody know what all this means?
  2. sparky10

    sparky10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    Hi springgranddad4, try following the suggestions below.

    https://support.google.com/toolbar/answer/78184?hl=en
  3. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello Sparky. I've spent a couple of hours on this and I'm going nowhere! Can't get rid of that error window I mentioned. However, thank you for responding.
  4. sparky10

    sparky10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111

    Have you tried uninstalling the toolbar and reinstalling it.?

    I think that it may be a Java script error, try disabling Java and see what happens.
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2013
  5. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello again Sparky. Well, I've removed and reinstalled the toolbar. Made no difference. So I remove Java. The same. Reinstall Java. The same. When I hit the spanner icon I get that error window. I hit 'yes at bottom to agree to run scripts, and I get the toolbar options window. Unfortunately , the window isn't big enough to include the whole page, including what I assume must be 'save'. So I can't alter anything. Not that I would know what to alter anyway! To hell with it, but thanks for your help!
  6. sparky10

    sparky10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    Hmm, sorry that did not work, maybe another forum member will have the solution. A question, do you really need the google toolbar, IE11 does its own remembering for search history for easier browsing if I`m not mistaken, is there a need for the google toolbar.
  7. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You know, all this started when I - for some reason which I forget - upgraded from IE10 to IE11. Perhaps I should go back. Is that wise?
  8. sparky10

    sparky10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111

    People will have different views on this, but if it worked before then why not go back.:)
  9. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Frankly Sparky, I don't know how to get rid of IE11. Even from 'program files' in 'C' it needs permission from 'TrustedInstaller' whatever that is.
  10. sparky10

    sparky10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    Did you install it as an update over IE10? If so you should be able to remove it by going into the following.

    Control Panel and select 'Windows update', then open windows updates and at the bottom left you will see the wording 'installed updates'. Select IE 11 and then you can remove/uninstall it, that should do it, you can download IE10 from here.
    Internet Explorer - Microsoft Windows
  11. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello Sparky. Well, I'm getting in a right pickle! I found a reference to Internet Explorer in 'installed updates'. Removed it. Installed (I think - it took ages) IE10 via your link. But I can't get it to connect to the internet. (Chrome connects but is very slow). There is no reference to Internet Explorer in 'installed updates' now, so have to assume it didn't download, even though I can get my original homepage. System restore doesn't work. I changed my desktop background but can't change it back again (don't ask!!). I'm at the point where I need to call in my local friendly expert before my bedroom wall gets a dent in it! I have a holiday first but I'll let you know the results!
  12. MarkE19

    MarkE19 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    15,560
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,024
    Have you tried a full reset of IE?
    Control Panel > Internet Options
    click on the 'Advanced' tab and click on 'Reset'

    Mark.
  13. springgranddad4

    springgranddad4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well Mark. Take a bow! Did as you said and got a window saying 'welcome to IE8'! Then a notification that a newer version was available - IE9. Then gave me the option to download IE10. Which downloaded easily. Back to normal I think. I may give the google toolbar a miss as you say Sparky. But many thanks gentlemen. (I've even changed my desktop background back!!!)
  14. sparky10

    sparky10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111

    Glad that you got there in the end:clap:

Share This Page