Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Glasses Wearers - Varifocal - Yes or No?

Discussion in 'General Chat Forum' started by Crocodile, Aug 31, 2010.

1. Crocodile

Crocodile Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +2,618
    I've been using reading glasses for a few years now but now need distance glasses as well. The prospect of trying to keep two pairs with me & swapping them around sounds like a pain but a couple of people I've spoken to who have had varifocals reckon they're not all that.

What say you?
  2. nmdale

nmdale Member

Ratings:
    +165
    I don't personaly wear glasses but both my parents wear varifocals and swear by them. They did take some getting used to and you shouldn't drive until you have, but this only takes a couple of hours, a day max!

Varifocals are a tad more expensive so bare that in mind, also if you are going to be going outdoors a lot consider reactalight (change colour in the sun)!

But to answer your question directly YES.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  3. Chox1988

Chox1988 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +6,821
    Ran the question by my mum (optician) and she said a very small percentage of people cant get on with them but no way to find out without taking the risk, but aside from that just plain and simple go for it.

I wear varifocals all the time, the thought of carrying glasses around sounds like a real pain.

Oh and sorry for the counter argument against the above but dont go for react a light, they just dont react fast enough and you look like a real **** walking around in the rain with tinted glasses on, I used to have a pair :D.

If you're an outdoorsman just get a second set of tinted glasses, so many places offer a buy one get one free anyway.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  4. wack

wack Active Member

Ratings:
    +281