1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freesat channels missing on tv - fine on STB

Discussion in 'Freesat' started by bogbf, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. bogbf

    bogbf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello Folks,
    Hope you can help with this – not sure if I have one problem or two.

    In an effort to consolidate my AV sprawl & recover some space, I recently ditched am aging HD ready VT + Amp + Media Centre PC Goodmans GFSAT200HD for a Samsung ES6800.


    I've noticed that I can't receive many of the music channels on 5xx and also BBC RB 3 and 4 on the Sammy that the Goodmans did show.


    I plugged the Goodmans back in and it shows approx. 75-80% for signal strength and quality (there is no actual figure given in the menu just bars) on most all channels. So I plug the cable back into the TV and I get 50% signal strength quality 100% and zero bitrate errors for the “main channels” in the 100's range. If I switch to Bliss I get about 30% quality with bitrate errors into the hundreds. Most of the 5xx range I just get a "weak or no signal" error.



    Outside the house: looking at the dish (was there when we moved in 7 or so years back) that there is some “give” in the LNB. If I poke it with a stick(!!!) I can shift it horizontally through a degree or two – though this does not seem to have any effect on the signal strength or quality.


    I've not approached Samsung or (god help me) PCWorld yet on this but I assume they will attempt to blame my dish.

    So I'd like your opinion on whether a Goodmans Freesat box just has a better tuner that Samsung TV, or if I have a duff one. Would a new LNB have a positive effect or would it be a new dish & cable as well?

    Thanks for your thoughts.
    B.
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2013
  2. Tight Git

    Tight Git Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,321
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +605
    Welcome to the forum, but is there any chance you can re-post (in the correct section) with something a bit clearer? :)
  3. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +597
    You do with the text editor you are using - you need to use something else or try pasting it into notepad 1st- that should strip the font info out for you & leave basic text rather than editing all the font info out by hand.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2013
  4. logiciel

    logiciel Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45,516
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,418
    I've done the edit for you and done the move.
    The dish and LNB need to be fixed and that should solve the problem.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Tight Git

    Tight Git Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,321
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +605
    Edited, moved and answered. :eek:

    Definitely above and beyond the call of duty! :thumbsup:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. logiciel

    logiciel Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45,516
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,418
    Now duplicated by OP, and merged by me.:mad:
  7. bogbf

    bogbf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry for messing up my first post - I'll send myself to bed tonight with no supper ;)

    Thanks for the swift response logiciel, and for cleaning up the mess I made.

    Much appreciated.
  8. logiciel

    logiciel Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    45,516
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,418
    That's OK and to echo T G, welcome to the forum.
    Feel free to edit your original post, and to enquire about anything else that may arise.
  9. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,330
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +451
    I think correct alignment and skew adjustment will help, too.
  10. bogbf

    bogbf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I decided to mail Samsung support to see what would happen - they called me up an hour later to arrange to send a man around to have a look without asking any further questions.....

    I'll post here once he's been in case anyone is interested.

    Thanks again for the input.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page