1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ford focus service light reset

Discussion in 'Motoring' started by flashfloodtony, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. flashfloodtony

    flashfloodtony Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anybody know how to reset the service light on a ford focus 1.6 tdci 09 as i have serviced it myself but do not know how to reset the light

    thanks in advance
  2. Dirty Harry

    Dirty Harry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +24
    I aint done it mate but im sure you have to plug a laptop into it with all the diagnostic gear on it to do that sadly :thumbsdow
  3. DVD-Man

    DVD-Man Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,085
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +690
    This is how you do it on a MK4 Mondeo, worth a go:-

    1. Close all doors.
    2. Turn the ignition key to position II.
    3. Simultaneously press the accelerator pedal and the brake pedal and hold for a minimum of 15 seconds.
    4. The oil change reminder indicator will turn off. This confirms that the reset procedure has been correctly completed.


    Liam
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. Fordy1

    Fordy1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    That's a new one to me as I did'nt know we fitted that in our vehicles these days.
    Can't say i've ever seen it come up, what is the symbol on the dash ?.
  5. benhaha85

    benhaha85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,812
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +433
    Are you sure it's not the engine management light? My 07 plate doesn't have a service light.
  6. NWhiteley

    NWhiteley Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,983
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +93
    09 onwards Mondeo's have a service light, so i presume so do the Focus's.

    The above reset procedure for the Mondeo does work, so it maybe worth a try with the Focus.
  7. riget

    riget Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +50
    I think you'll find the mondeo does have it, but the focus does not. Unless the very new one's have now got it.
  8. Ron240

    Ron240 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,421
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +345
    Well the OP did say his car was an 09 plate, which makes it the latest Mk.2 facelift.

    My Mk.2 does not have a service light, but that doesnt mean that it has not been added to the current model.
    I just done a very quick search and found that it certainly does appear to have one. ;)
  9. pmannion9

    pmannion9 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers mate,
    Tried this on my Focus and all sorted...
  10. hallcross

    hallcross Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a 1 year old Focus 1.6 Tdci for 1 week now, oil service light came on after a long run, found the above method on a different forum, worked a treat. Car was serviced October and only did 1000 miles since.
    Seems to be a known fault, but could I cause any damage with DPF filter etc?. 2 years warrant left, but not sure how I stand on that issue. Some more reading here

Share This Page