Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Epson TW3200/3600 owners thread - Part 3

Discussion in 'Projectors' started by pacemaker, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. lennon909uk

    lennon909uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has any had any experience of the Duronic screens available at Amazon. I would like to buy the 133'' but so far been unable to find any reviews of themDuronic EPS133/169 HD Projector Screen 133" - 16:9 Widescreen Matte White Screen - Electric Motorised switch control
    Any advice screen wise would be much appreciated.
  2. yatin c

    yatin c Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi, Im quite tempted to get the tw3200 or the optoma hd20 as my first projector. Ive read quite a bit of the threads on both of them, and "on paper" I am leaning towards the epson due to the lens shift facility (we are planning to move, but not found the right place yet). Ive been able to have a demo of the optoma at my local sevenoaks, but cant seem to find anyone that stocks the epson projector. Ive tried the epson webchat and phone number and they are yet to get back to me with an answer. I live in Sheffield, but dont mind a bit of driving to get a demo. Any ideas
  3. lennon909uk

    lennon909uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know Currys Don Valley have one in stock as I recently bought one and wanted to buy in person but the closest one in stock was don valley and I'm in plymouth so got it delivered. Its awesome and I too demoed the hd20 1st but so glad I went for the epson.
  4. yatin c

    yatin c Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks lennon, not sure which currys that is, but I'll give the branches around here a call tomorrow. What made you decide to go for the epson?
  5. Keksz

    Keksz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    at my DUNE mediaplayer (with bluray drive) which video mode should I use for 1080 MKV movies and Bluray discs?


    1080p 23.976Hz
    or
    1080p 24Hz

    Thanks!
  6. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,916
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,932
    same difference one is just the rounded up figure for the other.
  7. wolvers

    wolvers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,453
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,114
    They're not the same at all. Most movies are produced in 23.976fps (or 2400/1001 as it's sometimes referred to) but some, often Asian, films are produced in exactly 24fps. Some players, if not set correctly for the correct movie will produce stuttering that is most likely to be noticeable on panning shots. Some UK based movies are produced in 25fps and that will be worse.

    For some displays, a PC's GPU control panel will give you the option of either. In my case the AMD panel only gives the option of 24hz, but the 3200 reports that as being 23.90hz and plays back 23.976fps material perfectly. 24fps however does not so you have to be aware of what the source material is and how the player and display are interacting.

    I'd go with 23.976 and test out some material to check that is plays smoothly. Something like the opening panning shot in the dark knight is a good test.
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  8. Keksz

    Keksz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, thats good then, I am using the pj since july with 23,976 :-D
    never noticed any problems, but I was curious
  9. Ewan154

    Ewan154 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,917
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hi,
    I keep getting "source: hdmi 1 no signal. I have tried plugging the projector into the ps 3 and sky HD box, but get no signal.


    Should I contact Tesco or Epson?

    How do I contact Epson?
  10. wolvers

    wolvers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,453
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,114
    What about in HDMI2?

    How long have you had it?
  11. Ewan154

    Ewan154 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,917
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hi,
    Had the hdmi cable for a few years. Tried hdmi 2 and still get the same.
  12. wolvers

    wolvers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,453
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,114
    I meant how long have you had the Epson?

    Might be worth trying another HDMI lead if you have one.
  13. Ewan154

    Ewan154 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,917
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hi,
    Had the PJ for about 4 months now. Tried another hdmi cable and it works fine,so it looks like it's the hdmi cable.
  14. wolvers

    wolvers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,453
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,114
    Result! :thumbsup:
  15. muzzi

    muzzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,692
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +93
    Hi all,

    I'm looking into getting a 3200 PJ from PiPro.de ( I live in Germnay) and they can do a calibration for an extra 100Euro. However the calebration will be done in store. I presume this should stil give a better image than not having it callibrated, or will it/could it screw up the picture completely?

    They also have the option of the calibration and the lens filter for 150 Euro. Is the lens worth it as i don't have a batcave :-(

    linky

    Kompetenz in Beamern - Epson EH-TW3200 Epson EH-TW3200 001636

    Muzzi
  16. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,916
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,932
    Unless they calibrate in your room the money is wasted unless your room and theirs has the same conditions.
  17. muzzi

    muzzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,692
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +93
    This was my thinking,

    However if you flip it around, there would never be a room environment that would be perfect for out of the box settings, so although the calibration may not be perfect for my room, it would be better than out of the box settings?

    (or am I talking rubbish as normal )
  18. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,916
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,932
  19. wolvers

    wolvers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,453
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,114
    Your service is a bargain!
  20. muzzi

    muzzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,692
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +93
    :)

    Cool thanks.

    Muzzi
  21. barakoas

    barakoas Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey folks
    i got one question.. If you could choose new projector today.. and have two options to choose from.. would you go for TW3200 again or it would be TW5900/TW6000
    I know the features of both.. i just really would like to know your opinion.. :blush:

    Thanks
  22. Beard of Steel

    Beard of Steel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +280
    I suppose it really comes down to whether you want 3D or not and also if you require a very flexible lens shift.

    I use quite a bit of lens shift and at this point in time im not that fussed about 3D, although that may change if I seen a demo and it blew me away, then I may consider upgrading.

    For the money the TW3200 is an excellent PJ and produces a quality picture so I would stick with that for the time being.
  23. pmymmw

    pmymmw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I am thinking of buying a TW3200 but just wanted to check it would work OK in my conditions before I did.
    My lounge is almost 22' long so I will probably end up with a throw distance of around 19-20'. I was thinking of buying a 106" screen. I know from the calculator on projectorcentral I will have to have the zoom quite close to one extreme on the projector to achieve this, will this have an adverse effect on the picture quality?
    Thanks for the help.
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  24. Beard of Steel

    Beard of Steel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +280
    Ideally you would want the throw to be around the 15'-18' mark max. If that isnt possible you may want to look at a screen with a slightly higher gain, possibly around 1.5, especially if you are using it in a room with light walls and ceiling.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  25. wolvers

    wolvers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,453
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,114
    Surely when you zoom in, it will be at it's brightest? AFAIK, you loose brightness as you zoom out to a larger image.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  26. Vol666

    Vol666 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  27. woppy101

    woppy101 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +65
    They look like dust blobs to me
  28. Vol666

    Vol666 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I change the hdmi cable and now its fine....
  29. pigginbacon

    pigginbacon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,322
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +68
    I posted on Part 1 of this thread about the slight dimming / flicker problem I was having with the 3200.

    I notice a few other people have had this.

    First of all I got out the Epson engineer and they replaced the bulb. This worked for about a month before the problem re occurred. I got the engineer back out again and was given a replacement unit.

    Now I have just noticed this unit has started doing it too. There is only 27 hours on the bulb.

    I'm not happy at all.

    Has anyone managed to get this sorted?
  30. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,916
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,932
    Flicker is something that can effect all projectors and it is fairly common.What is not common is that it happens so early in a bulbs life.

    The normal way to cure this problem is to run on full/high brightness for 10-20hrs then put bulb back down to eco mode.That will normally stop the issue for another few hundred hours but I am not sure why you are having this problem so early in the projectors life.

Share This Page