1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Epson TW-5900/6000/6000W Owners thread - Part 2

Discussion in 'Projectors' started by paulmcp2403, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,148
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +70
    since when did you become sensitive about your age ?:smashin:
  2. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    Just measured mine (pj throw that is ;)) and its 5.2m from the lens to screen with a screen size of 2.8m wide (111"). This can be made bigger or smaller with the zoom control. So I don't think you'll have any problems with screen size.

    [​IMG]
  3. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    Just picked up my pair, haven't tested them yet but my God there very light! Much like to one's you get in the local multiplex.

    Okay I've now tested the panny glasses and they work fine, 3D was the same on both the panny and epson glasses the only difference was the pannys seemed to be a little bit darker. Anyway for £30 there good as a spare/back up set.

    *edit* just found out that you can turn 3D mode on or off with the panny glasses, so for example if there are two or more watching a 3D film and one of you doesn't like the 3D effect you can turn the glasses to 2D and carry on watching the film in 2D.
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  4. djg85

    djg85 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nice piccy! Thanks for the measurements as well. Think I can rest easy now and get the 6000. As i said before I'd love the 9000 but think it would be wasted slightly in the livingroom during the day so can't really justify the extra grand. I was trying to get some of the Panny glasses but I don't think any of the Curry's in central Scotland have any left at all now :(. Bit gutted I've missed the offer for the free Epson glasses as well. Might need to bite the bullet and buy some at retail :eek:. Will get everything all ordered up tonight :D. Thanks for all your help
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    No worries, good luck and let us know how it all pans out :smashin:
  6. pigginbacon

    pigginbacon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,294
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    Is anyone using the Panasonic TY-EW3D3ME 3D glasses with their TW6000 PJ? I am looking to buy a couple of pairs and wondered how they compare to the Epson ones.

    Also I noticed that they have a feature where they can convert 3D into 2D. This would be useful as my wife doesn't like 3D. Does this feature work with the TW6000?
  7. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    lol.....read post #33. Does help if you read the thread before asking questions ;)
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  8. pigginbacon

    pigginbacon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,294
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    :rolleyes: I read most of it this afternoon. You edited in the bit I was specifically asking about after I had posted.
  9. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,148
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +70
    By the way nice room trueromance....old boy:smashin:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    No I didn't, anyway hope its all clear now. Check your local currys or pcworld if they have any in stock for £29.97 :smashin:
  11. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    I've told you already about bringing up my age :D

    Thanks for the comment :thumbsup:
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2012
  12. freemo999

    freemo999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +156
    Can anyone help, having a problem with my new 6000

    All pictures - except SKY 3d channel are blown up to twice the size so I can only see half of the image.

    An example would be on any other channel other then sky 3d, i can only see half of the banner bar, just the channel no and channel desc is visible, and i lost the now and next bit of the banner.

    On a BD film i can only see half of the scene.

    In between the 6000 is my Yamaha RX-V673 AVR.

    I am sure its just a setting on the PJ and everything will go back to normal.

    Your help would be greatly appreciated
  13. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    You need to turn off sbs 3D mode, put it back into auto. You may need to do this each time you watch sky 3D.
  14. Hugh

    Hugh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,248
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +224
    This ^^^

    It's very annoying that the auto setting doesn't automatically recognise SBS, and you have to manually set it.

    Then, even though you turn off 3D, you still have to turn off the SBS mode or you only get half a picture on regular TV. :rolleyes:
  15. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    To be fair I don't think and tv/pj will auto select 3d sbs format. But yes your right its a pita.
  16. freemo999

    freemo999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +156
    Superb, thanks guys!
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. Kummeli

    Kummeli Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm planning of buying the 5900 or the 3200..

    Have you guys noticed any lag on the 5900 when gaming?
    I play NHL and driving simulators.
  18. drennan

    drennan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Received my 2 pairs of free glasses from the offer. Very impressed with service from Epson (or their promoter). Posted the form last monday. Received email wednesday. Glasses arrived Saturday. :)
  19. 1ellis2345

    1ellis2345 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I'm looking for a little advice on what screen to buy.

    I'm not sure whether to buy a matt grey screen (to improve contrast) or to get a matt white screen. I watch my movies at night (completely dark), but I am lookin at ways to black out the room even in the day!

    I would love to know what you guys think would be the better screen for my 6000? Thanks.
  20. Galaxy

    Galaxy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Bummer! Just been told by Currys/PC World information service that the Panasonic 3D glasses are completely out of stock......end of line item.
  21. Rojasm

    Rojasm Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi
    Have had my 5900 now for three months and put 85 hours on it,a lot of the time spent on forza4 and dirt3 ect using fanatec setup.i have no lag problems,it seems to play the same as the tv!the only lag issue i had was trying to sync audio on bbc hd channels,but this was sortted by delaying it a bit using my amp.
    Hope this helps.
  22. pigginbacon

    pigginbacon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,294
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    Has any one got any settings they can share for the 6000? I am running default with the cinema setting and wondered if there were any improvements to be had?

    Thanks
  23. tabari

    tabari Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can someone who had the TW6000 professionally calibrated for using in a bat cave share the settings ?

    I know that there are no standard best settings as everyone has different room conditions, but I use mine in a bat cave too and those settings should be in any case better for me than using the standard settings or messing up with trial error.
  24. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    How about I have mine calibrated for £300 and I'll then sell you the settings for £150.......:D
  25. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    Think the default cinema setting isn't to bad to be honest. How many hours do you have on the bulb yet, no real point messing around with settings until the bulb has settled down. (100-200 hours).
    have a read of this.
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  26. tabari

    tabari Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you have what I need and are you negotiating ?
    Or are you a calibrator trying to convince people not to share their settings ? :rolleyes:
  27. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    Frankly if I was to pay £300 (aprox) to have my display calibrated I certaintly wouldn't share this information.
  28. cmarinelli

    cmarinelli Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    If you want a better image without professional calibration (for the best image), just use a test disc.
    It will give you results based on your individual machine, your screen, lens aperture/zoom and ambient light.
  29. Dr. Robert

    Dr. Robert Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    Just bought a TW5900 today, delivered monday. Cant wait
  30. True Romance

    True Romance Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +624
    Great news :smashin: Bet you can't wait.

Share This Page