Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Decent Headphones for Xbox 360 *Part 9*

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Forum' started by bearman3784, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. majnu

    majnu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,541
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,275
    If as you say the battery was already in the headset was the packaging sealed at all? (Not that makes a difference anyway because when I worked in Staples we had machines which could re-seal any package except those vacumn moulded ones)

    If you can't hear anything then I suspect that the headset is faulty. Is there a master reset button on your base station?
  2. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No the Package was Not sealed. Since the batteries were already in I am pretty sure smbdy Sent it back before.
    Where would that master reset button be located?
  3. majnu

    majnu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,541
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,275
    I'm just assuming it has a master rest. I don't own those cans unfortunately
  4. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    No it don't have a master reset button. You really don't have anything to reset it with. My batteries had been sealed and I had fun getting the battery section off for the first time. From what you are saying it looks like these are returns.

    All input volume is controlled by the output device. The cans have a volume option on them also. Thats about it.
  5. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15,179
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,158
    Intriguing to hear about the new XP400 Turtle Beach headphones. Completely wireless, PS3 compatible and 5GHz. Anyone seen a date or price yet?
  6. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    According to the press release: Both headsets will be available in earlier 2012, with the XP400 priced at $220 and the XP300 at 50 bucks less.

    Mad Catz have stated that the Tritton Primer will ship this week. They run at 5.8GHz.
  7. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15,179
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,158
    So we could say March-ish for £160-ish?
  8. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    Yes regarding the date but I really don't know about the price.
  9. kav

    kav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23,199
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,542
    Lawrence you can get the PX5s right now for similar money and they work on both PS3 and 360 (as well as PC).
  10. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    How about the XP500 they do the same thing but don't have the new wifi feature.
  11. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15,179
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,158
    Do the PX5 dothe same thing then? Need a Bluetooth adapter for Xbox Live chat right? The XP500s a no go as they're £220.
  12. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    Yes they have the bluetooth thing. Game had the XP500s for £179.99.
  13. Snowy Dash

    Snowy Dash Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought one of the 'B' Grade Turtle Beach X41 from their Ebay store for £68.50, I could not cope without a surround sound headset any more!

    I was a little bit surprised that TB announced even more new models a few days after the X32/X42 etc, but I plan to upgrade to the TB XP400's shortly after they are released, I think the Tritton Warheads are now off the menu for me, originally the choice was going to be between them and the TB XP500's...but now the XP400's seem to tick all the right boxes.
  14. kav

    kav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23,199
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,542
    PX5 has a bluetooth adapter built in for PS3 chat or for connecting your mobile so you can answer calls while gaming (not something I'm that bothered with, but the facility is there). It comes with a wire to connect from your headset to your controller to chat on XBL, but if you want to go completely wireless, then yes you need to buy a bluetooth adapter for XBL. I'm not bothered by it myself, it's the wires from the headset to the console that annoy me which is why I went wireless.

    One negative is their website claims 25 hours on two AA batteries but in my experience you only get about half this. Sound-wise though, they are fantastic.
  15. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    15,179
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,158
    Cheers Kav. How are the PX5s got interference and background hiss? If they're not a problem, seems I may have a solution here.
  16. kav

    kav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23,199
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,542
    I have several wireless devices in the area and have never had a single issue with hiss or interference. In fact, coming from X1s, X11s and the like, I was amazed by the complete lack of any low-level noise - you get so used to it with those latter headsets that you almost forget about it, that is until you use a headset that doesn't have any such issues. :thumbsup:
  17. Chrisharry12345

    Chrisharry12345 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    What cable do i need for my x41's to have the optical in with the hdmi? I sawn the case of the component but it keeps cutting out as it doesnt quite fit?

    Cheers
  18. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    I was thinking about this tonight and came up with the following. Have you checked your optical cable to make sure you removed the little plastic caps ?
  19. Dinky Dragon

    Dinky Dragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,790
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    I think he you should try a new optical. The symptoms you are having is what you get when the glass in the cable is wrecked.
  20. ozzie800

    ozzie800 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  21. niall campbell

    niall campbell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    886
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +59
  22. Chrisharry12345

    Chrisharry12345 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    any ideas..? i know i have seen it somewhere..
  23. bearman3784

    bearman3784 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,752
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,610
    Search '360 audio adaptor' on ebay, think there is 1 or 2 on the AVF classifieds at the mo as well

    Try and buy official though as there are some reports of the third party ones being wired incorrectly inside
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  24. ozzie800

    ozzie800 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys i have no rca audio out on my tv so would i be able to use one of these 3.5mm JACK STEREO TO 2 x RCA PHONO SPLITTER ADAPTER to connect my Plantronics X40's ?
  25. Se777eN

    Se777eN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7,367
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,464

    got these headphone for xmas (yes i ask for them of the wife) tried the chat last night it was awful so will try this

    Also i seem to be getting a beep every 2min then after 10min they turn off but then i turn on and there find for about 15min and the do the same again. Its been fully charged but my batteries are still in.
  26. meweavy

    meweavy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +632
    @ se777en,sounds like the batteries are knackered,the beeping is a warning that the battery power is low,sounds like they are not holding the charge when you charge them up.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  27. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,512
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    I sent you a friends request. Next time I am on you can test the headset with me. I find that the docking station sometimes gives a false reading regarding the battery. Try making sure that the station is flat and that the headphones go on flat also.
  28. Dinky Dragon

    Dinky Dragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,790
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    Another thing, if you charge the headset then dont use it for a few days it will lose some of its charge. What I do, is when I know Im gunna use em I just lift em off the cradle and set back on charge to top em up for 15 mins.

    As for the chat, Pixels technique doesnt work for me so I just turn the in game volume down (to around 3) then turn up all the way on the headset (both game volume and voice volume)
  29. leamspaceman

    leamspaceman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,048
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,076
    I've had my Creative Recon3D Omega wireless headphones for a few weeks now and they are, in my humble opinion, the best option for cross-platform gaming available. The fact that they don't have to be plugged into the mains makes them extremely flexible. I can just take them from lounge to bedroom and within seconds have them running on my second PS3 or Sky. They sound incredible. They run on the 2.4Ghz band, but have no background 'hiss' at all. I live in a flat with multiple 2.4Ghz devices and none create interference.

    I love the fact that I can adjust all sorts of settings using the PC software and then download these settings to the Creative and implement them on my other devices.

    You can even use third-party headphones but then lose the wireless functionality.

    Fantastic product.
  30. majnu

    majnu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,541
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,275
    Can the processor be purchased separately? If so does it have any inputs for headsets and microphones? Creative have always been superior when it comes to audio processing and the audio decoder/processor box looks like a viable replacement to the Astro Mix Amp to me.

    Edit - It looks amazing. I'm not fussed about changing voice chat and game chat controls on the fly which it "seems" to lack. Where's the cheapest place to buy it? Why am I feeling excited? :D
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

Share This Page