Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Decent Headphones for Xbox 360 *Part 9*

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Forum' started by bearman3784, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. bearman3784

    bearman3784 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,752
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,610
  2. Dinky Dragon

    Dinky Dragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,790
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    haha I just came on to suggest this :/

    Beat me to it old man!

    Im going to post up my little reivew of the Chimaera from a preivous thread just to save me inevitably doing it at a later date anyway!

    Bearman, just a suggestion but would you agree that a stickied thread with sub forums would be better then this rolling thread. Information gets lost way too easy here and what we have is 10000 posts asking the same thing...

    The sub threads could be - Turtle Beach, Tritton, Astro, Razer, Sharktoon, Other (Other would include Sennheisers/those that are headphone/amp setups.
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  3. bearman3784

    bearman3784 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,752
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,610
    Took just over a year for 1000 posts to be made in the previous thread so not sure if there is the need for one. Agree the same questions do get asked, but then it's not hard to search through previous threads, its how i chose my current setup. http://www.avforums.com/forums/xbox...ting-headset-headphones-check-here-first.html is a sticky but stickys tend to be ignored, could be updated though if someone wants to take on the task? If there was to be a subforum just the one 'Headphones and Gaming Audio' rather than every manufacturer would be better
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  4. SRR

    SRR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +19
  5. Snowy Dash

    Snowy Dash Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure but is it only 5.1 and not 5,1/7.1 like the original model DSS?
  6. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What´s that whole 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 crap anyway? I mean, of course I understand the basic concept of dolby surround. But is there really a noticeable difference between 5.1 and say 7.1?
    Are the any compatibility issues if I have a 5.1 headset but the audio on my blu ray is 6.1?
  7. Satantango

    Satantango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I still have a pair of Turtle B's x4 which were good enough but the build quality is *****, first the mic stopped working (no idea why, no broken wires or connections) then the power lead wore off at plug (had to open the plug to fix then duck tape it together and then an earphone snapped (my fault but it happened so easily) so now I have headphones with no mic and covered in duck tape lol.
    Anyway, looking for replacements but preferably something of better quality, hopefully this thread will point me in the right direction.
  8. boabbyrab

    boabbyrab Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm in the market for a new headset and looking at a max of £40 spend, looking at TB X12 or TB PX21 which are both in my price range, but before i decide are there others to chose from in that price range and how good are the two above.
    Ta much
  9. Kwman

    Kwman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,018
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +528
    Any Chimaera users advise how to increase game chat volume. At default settings game effects and sound overpower party chat. Cheers
  10. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,511
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    Lower the sound output on the 360 to 2 and put the voice at 8. That is how I currently have it setup.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  11. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just ordered the Chimaers and a bunch of other stuff I´ll need. Looking forward to testing them.
  12. virtual_boy

    virtual_boy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,459
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +424
    Gaming headset maker Turtle Beach has just unveiled its new products for 2012 that it will bring to CES next week. This includes the Ear Force X42 and Ear Force X32 Xbox 360 headsets. They use new dual-band Wi-Fi and large 50mm drivers. The $160 X42 supports surround sound, while the $100 X32 does not.

    An updated Dolby Surround Sound (DSS) processor that is the DSS2 gets six variable speaker configurations and supports stereo headsets. It costs $80 alone or can be bundled with the surround sound headsets.

    The $40 Earforce Z11 is for PC gamers and sports acoustically-angled 50mm drivers.

    Also making their debut at CES will be a new M-series of headsets for mobile devices, including the $50 M5, $40 M3 and $60 M1 earbuds. The M5 and M3 have 40mm drivers and in-line mics, while the M3 folds. The M1s have noise-cancelling ability, 10mm drivers with neodymium magnets, and an in-line remote.

    Shipping dates for all the gear may be given at CES.

    X42
    [​IMG]

    X32
    [​IMG]

    DSS2
    [​IMG]

    Z11
    [​IMG]

    M5
    [​IMG]

    M3
    [​IMG]

    M1
    [​IMG]

    Source: http://www.ipodnn.com/articles/12/01/06/turtle.beach.unveils.gaming.headphone.lineup/
  13. majnu

    majnu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,275
    I'm going to make an impulse buy of some Brainwavz HM5. Only problem is that it's a pre-order item and will be in stock in Feb. Works out around £70 inc shipping and hopefully customs won't sting me with charges.
  14. virtual_boy

    virtual_boy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,459
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +424
    Mad Catz announced today the shipping of the Primer Wireless Stereo Headset, for use with the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system from Microsoft.

    Darren Richardson, the President and Chief Executive Officer of Mad Catz Interactive, Inc. stated, "The Primer is the third of our co-branded headsets to be released for the Xbox 360 and the first wireless product in the range. We are excited to bring passionate gamers high quality, wireless gaming."

    The Primer Wireless Stereo Headset uses 5.8GHz wireless technology to connect with the Xbox 360. In addition, the Primer includes precision balanced 40mm neodymium drivers and controls which allow gamers to separately adjust volume and in-game chat levels.

    Now shipping for $100.

    [​IMG]

    TRITTON Technologies Inc.
  15. majnu

    majnu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,275
  16. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, so I got my Razer Chimaera 5.1 today and I gotta say I am utterly disappointed!

    I connected them to my Xbox via optical cable but even if I turn up the volume to full on the headphones and in game (COD MW2) they are not at all loud. Shooting sounds dull and not powerful at all.
    Also connected them to my digital cable box - the same! If I chose a channel that offers digital dolby surround and I turn up the volume to full it is very, very, very "not loud".

    Is this normal? Can´t be, right?????

    Or am I doing something wrong? I already checked the Xbox, dolby 5.1 is activated.
  17. majnu

    majnu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,275
    1. On the Xbox Dashboard or in-game, press the Guide button. That is the center Xbox button on the controller.
    2. Select Settings > Preferences > Voice.
    3. Voice volume - Adjusts the volume of your friends incoming voice.
    4. Game volume - Adjusts the game volume during chat.

    Is your game volume set to 10 (Max)?
  18. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn´t try chat, so I can´t say anything about the voice volume.

    But yes, game volume is set to max!! And it is MW3 of course, not 2.

    Also I tried it again with some movie with Dolby Digital audio and it is just soooo quiet. There is not movie feeling what soever.
    Will try it with a DVD on my xbox again real quick.
  19. meweavy

    meweavy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    6,522
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +628
    that dont sound right,i have tried mine on bf3 and they are very loud if i turn my volume up,i have mine on normal settings and the volume is not on full,even with skyrim they sound ace.that is with digital optical connected,dolby on,settings on green.
  20. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I don´t hear anything at all - don´t know what I just did.

    Anyway, i just tried a DVD (300) over Xbox and it sounds much more like iPhone speaker than almost € 200 surround headset. I can hear the surround effect, but still it doesn´t sound any good at all. I got the green Dolby digital light an as well as the EQ on green.
    Is there anything that can be messed up on either Xbox or on the headset?

    I it is connected to the Xbox via optical cable on the component connector (so not on the xbox itself!). But that should´t matter right?
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  21. meweavy

    meweavy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    6,522
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +628
    im not sure,i have my optical lead plugged directly into my xbox 360 slim,and it sounds fine,sounds like there is either a fault with the headset or the component connector.the headphones should sound very good and very loud.
  22. meweavy

    meweavy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    6,522
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +628

    have you "synched"the headset to the base station?,also make sure the batteries are fully charged.
  23. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are not loud on my digital cable box as well (also optical out) so I think the headset is just broken. Now I don´t hear a peep.

    I there anything I need to do after unpacking them? I plugged the optical cable in my xbox, connected them to power, turned the station on, synched them. That´s all I did.
    BTW: strange thing, the batteries were already in the headset!
  24. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I have. Just pressed the synch button on the station first (flashed green) then on the headset. Then it stopped flashing.
  25. meweavy

    meweavy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    6,522
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +628
    if i were you,charge the batteries for a few hours then try them.the batteries though should not be in the headset,mine were sealed up in the box,sounds like they might be a faulty pair,and someone has sent them back already.
    they are amazing headphones when they work.i would send them back if i were you.get a replacement pair sent out.
  26. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It put them on the stand and they were charged in like 10 mins. I also suspect they sent me a faulty pair. Just gonna send everything back. Bought it from amazon anyway.

    What do I have to do to change the EQ to red or yellow? Just press the EQ button, right?
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  27. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,511
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    Have you turned the volume up on the headset ? Its on the right hand side with the mic being on your left hand side.

    Do you also have your optical connected the in and not the out ?
    Are you using the optical cable they sent you and do you have anything to test it with ?

    Yes you just push the eq button and it changes the colour. Mine is on green.
  28. Dinky Dragon

    Dinky Dragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,790
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    Add me on LIVE matey and Ill walk you through some things to try.
  29. pixelpixel

    pixelpixel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,511
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,815
    He won't hear you ;)
  30. l0l

    l0l Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I turned up the volume. Yes, I also connected it to the optical in.
    And yes, I use the optical cable they supplied. I can also test it with my digital cable box. But the sound I get on dolby digital is very very quiet.

    The EQ never turns to yellow or red! I push the button once - it stays green. I push it twice - no light at all. A third time - green again.

Share This Page