1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connection Sony Bravia to a PC

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by MarkBraund, Jan 7, 2008.

1. MarkBraund

MarkBraund Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

I'm new to these things so any help you can give would be great! :thumbsup:

I just got a Sony Bravia KDL26 -T2800 and am trying to connect it to my PC via a DVI -> HDMI cable from the PC to TV.

However, its not working at all. The PC detects the TV, but the TV cannot detect my PC via the auto-detect HDMI setting. The PC automatically sets to a resolution of 1152 x 648 when you connect the PC (and I have tried various other resolution settings without luck).

If anyone can suggest anything I will be forever in your debt :lease:
  2. NX3

NX3 Active Member

Ratings:
    +333
    Set to 720p or 1080i. I don't think you can do 1:1 pixel mapping over HDMI on the 26" Bravias. If you want that use a VGA cable.
  3. MarkBraund

MarkBraund Member

Ratings:
    +0
    And, at the risk of sounding really stupid, how do I do that?? Is it a TV setting? :confused:
  4. MarkBraund

MarkBraund Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I found some settings in my ATI Control centre for 'forcing' 1080i - I tried doing this, got a warning about damaging equipment through forcing, clicked ok and then my monitor went blank.

Luckily it corrected itself after a restart, but I still cant get the PC picture on my screen. I had no idea it would be this hard!

Please, can someone give me some ideas to work with???
  5. MarkBraund

MarkBraund Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Still trying to fix this - anyone with any ideas?
  6. NX3

NX3 Active Member

Ratings:
    +333
    Update your video drivers to the latest from ATI. Then try using 720p thought the set should do 1080i. Have you got a VGA cable to hand out of interest?
  7. tdodd

tdodd Member

Ratings:
    +182