Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting Sky HD to my old Technics SCEH790 for Dolby Digital sound.

Discussion in 'Sky Forum' started by Razglaws, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. Razglaws

    Razglaws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Had Sky HD fitted yesterday afternoon and have to say I'm inmpressed so far !
    Was a bit worried about the SD channels picture quality being a bit worse as they're now thru the HD box but to my untrained eye they look the same as when they ran thru my old sky+ box !

    Just trying to get the benefit of the Dolby Digital sound from Sky HD.
    So can can anyone let me know if I can connect my Sky HD box to my 4 year old Technics hi-fi that hasn't got a optical audio cable in !?

    The technics has got a 6 channel discrete input, as per the manual.

    If I can't do it this way, I may have to go off and buy a new Onkyo amp / receiver and probably get some new speakers, cost = £850.

    Any help will be gratefully received as it may cost me some money !!!


    http://www.superfi.co.uk/index.cfm/page/moreinfo.cfm/Product_ID/3332

    ]Use this input selector to enjoy 5.1 channel sources (e.g. Dolby Digital or
    DTS) played on a DVD player with
    5.1 channel output and a built in Dolby
    Digital/DTS decoder page 36 for
    connection, page 24 for operation).
    Connect a subwoofer (not included) to
    the SUBWOOFER terminal to enhance
    the surround effect

    DISCONTINUED TECHNICS SCEH790 HOME CINEMA MINI SYSTEM SPECIFICATIONS :Model: SL-EH790
    5 CD multi-changer. Plays CD/CD-R/CD-RW, MP3, WMA discs.
    Random, repeat, programmable playback, disc select Tuner:Integrated into amplifier. FM with RDS (PS, PTY), AM tuner. Auto tuning, presets Cassette recorder:Model: RS-DV290
    Twin cassette deck. Dolby NR (noise reduction), record from CD, radio or from tape-to-tape Amplifier:Model: SA-EH790. Digital S. Woofer (adds power to bass)

    Front: 2 x 65 watts (8 Ohms), Centre: 80 watts (8 Ohms), Surround: 2 x 40 watts (8 Ohms)

    (All ratings at 1kHz, THD 10%) Speakers:Front (SB-DV290): 3-way design, bass reflex port. Bass: 17cm, bass/midrange: 12cm, tweeter: 6cm. 8 Ohms, 46 - 36,000 Hz frequency range

    Centre (SB-PC95): 2-way design, bass reflex port. Bass/midrange (x2): 8cm, tweeter: 6cm. 8 Ohms, 115 - 20,000 Hz frequency range.

    Surround (SB-PS95): 1-way design. Full range speaker: 8cm, 8 Ohms, 150 - 18,000 Hz frequency range Sockets:FRONT:
    3.5mm (1/8") minijack socket for headphones

    REAR:
    Stereo line in via 2 x RCA/phono
    6 channel input via 6 x RCA/phono (for use with a DVD with built in Dolby Digital/DTS decoder)
    Stereo line in via 2 x RCA/phono
    Stereo line out via 2 x RCA/phono Supplied accessories:Remote control with batteries, FM and AM indoor antennas W x H x D (mm):Sound processor: 293 x 89 x 270
    CD Changer: 293 x 89 x 288
    Cassette Deck: 294 x 118 x 281

    SPEAKERS
    Front: 240 x 412 x 259
    Centre: 190 x 99 x 166
    Surround: 140 x 99 x 118 Weight (kg):Sound processor: 1.5
    CD Changer: 2.2
    Cassette Deck: 2.1

    SPEAKERS
    Front: 5.8
    Centre: 1.8
    Surround: 0.9 Finish:System: Silver
    Speakers: Black / Silver Extra:Dolby Pro Logic / Multi-Channel Sound processor (SH-EH790): Capable of Dolby Pro Logic or full 6 channel input from an external DVD player. Multiple surround modes: virtual rear, multi rear, super surround, centre focus, Pro Logic, adjustable equaliser
    Play timers (for all sources), record timers (for radio only), sleep timer, clock
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008
  2. Rottie

    Rottie Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +91
    Hi there,

    Without an optical connection, you won't get DD.
    Even if you use Phonos, the best you can hope for is Pro Logic.

    HTH.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Broadz

    Broadz Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,658
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,480
    Not only does the Technics not have an optical or coaxial input, it also doesn't have a DD or DTS decoder - so will never produce true surround sound. As Rottie says, the best you could hope for will be DPL (not even DPL II). It is a hi-fi stereo, not an AV amp. Keep it in your music room, and put an AV amp or receiver with multiple optical, coaxial and even HDMI inputs in your TV room.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Razglaws

    Razglaws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's what I thought !!

    So will have to get the new amp and then maybe connect up the old technics speakers to the new amp ?!
    This would save on buying a new 5.1 speaker set !
    or just sell the old technics system, should be able to get at least £100 / £150 for it, as it is a quality bit of kit !?
    & get the new amp and new 5.1 speaker set !

    It just gets so costly everytime I read this web-site ................... !!

    Many thanks
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2008

Share This Page