Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cocktail Audio X10 Discussion, Part II

Discussion in 'Streamers & Network Music Players' started by amcluesent, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. Big Chief Onion

    Big Chief Onion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way of making the web interface between my laptop and the X10 more stable? The connection is often lost for long periods. I used to be able to easily set it up again by rebooting the router but that doesn't work so well any more.
  2. graham.myers

    graham.myers Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,134
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +914
    Is it a wired or wireless connection? Wireless is open to all sorts of connection issues. Have a look at ssinsider to see if you just getting interference on the channel you are using
  3. Big Chief Onion

    Big Chief Onion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a wireless connection Graham. What's ssinsider? I Googled it but all I could find was something about bass fishing. I'm sure that's not what you were referring to!
  4. amcluesent

    amcluesent Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,786
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +887
  5. graham.myers

    graham.myers Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,134
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +914
    oooo close :) Thanks amcluesent
  6. mullers63

    mullers63 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anyone have a quick set of instructions for streaming (rather than downloading) tracks from the X10 using VLC. I have VLC now on an Android phone and am assuming it should stream FLAC effectively but am struggling.

    Many thanks
  7. nellieboy

    nellieboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi chris mk. well im glad the exporting and conversion works. seems like the copy is fathful to the original as the problem already existed on the x10.cant help with that sorry. have you tried doing it with a whole album preferably one that is correctly labled
  8. Big Chief Onion

    Big Chief Onion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks but after I'd downloaded it I realised it's way beyond my level of understanding. I managed to find out that my router uses channel 9 and 13 but I don't know what that means or what to do with the information.
  9. hamish72

    hamish72 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Insider can show you if any other wifi is using the same channels if so change the channels your router uses

    Many electronic devices can degrade your wifi if near router or X10 radio tv and cordless phones are about the worst offenders along with switch mode power supplies as used by most routers keep it and all other electronic gear as far from the router as you can
  10. Big Chief Onion

    Big Chief Onion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Hamish. It's not a problem with channels but just about every device you mentioned is clustered in one portion of the room. It could be that some moving around is needed.
  11. Chris MK

    Chris MK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think the answer is not to rush things!
    I've redone a few and they seem to be fine thanks.
  12. russypussy

    russypussy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any new info anybody?
  13. gpauk

    gpauk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah - gone really quiet here -- is no news good news?!
  14. whatstrumpsnell

    whatstrumpsnell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    booted my X10 today offered upgrade to firmware R1669 both the UK and US Cocktail Audio sites as of an hour ago had no details of the release has anyone taken the step to upgrade ??
  15. russypussy

    russypussy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just updating as I speak.
  16. russypussy

    russypussy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    On first inspection there's an auto shutdown option.
  17. TheZillionthSue

    TheZillionthSue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    What does that do?

    I've downloaded the new release but also can't find any notes for it.

    Also - am I doing something wrong? When I try to do a search, I can only search on the first letter. This is really irritating if for example I am looking for a title beginning with S and have to scroll through hundreds before reaching it.

    Surely I should be able to search on at least the first three letters?

    I'm supposedly up to date with all the upgrades.
  18. russypussy

    russypussy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    It shuts it down automatically at a pre-determined time.
  19. Mahay

    Mahay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me tooo...........
  20. gpauk

    gpauk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I wouldn't touch it without seeing release notes... There have been updates worth skipping before!
  21. Hagar63

    Hagar63 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
  22. simonblue

    simonblue Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10,810
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,642
  23. Mahay

    Mahay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I am able to browse album by genre with the new firmware. :smashin: Nice job!!!
    The playlist is getting better because you can add an entire album directly. However I find the process to be little complicated or confusing. I wish there is a very simple option where you can add an album or a group of song, genre etc. directly through menu, not through the protocol described in the release note nor through the blue/yellow button. I mean, something like you can create an empty playlist, then you browse your DB and add song from there.
    But anyway, I still find the X10 worth the money. I also like the fact that they listen to your issue and trying hard to resolve the problem. I personally notice a big improvement since the date I made my purchase. I think this is one of the best player out there.:devil:
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  24. gpauk

    gpauk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
  25. simonblue

    simonblue Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10,810
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,642
    Nice you can download artwork now :smashin:
  26. russypussy

    russypussy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's really efficient too. This is a great addition it's now leaps and bounds ahead of the Brennan.
  27. eNeeMac

    eNeeMac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've had the X10 for over a year now and can honestly say I've never had an issue with it. I also bought my father in law one and he's in his 80's he loves it...agreed he does need help with how to update software and operate the unit but you don't need a computing degree! The updates so far are great...gapless playback was a must but now to download artwork is easy! Keep up the good work Cocktail updaters!
  28. carl w

    carl w Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Let's face it,the Brennan was never even close was it?
  29. tea4one

    tea4one Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +6
    The best just got better! Its like getting a new gadget every month. Had mine about 15 months now, its a completely different machine now - and it was great back then!!!! I nearly bought a pad just to use for the GUI downstairs instead of firing the laptop up each time - no need at all now! Well done those guys!!!!
  30. russypussy

    russypussy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    True.

Share This Page