Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cinavia DRM on PS3s (and other Blu-Ray players)

Discussion in 'PS3 Forum' started by DJSigma, May 7, 2010.

  1. DJSigma

    DJSigma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,729
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1,911
    More info on this here: -

    Cinavia Technology

    It only affects Blu-Ray players at the moment, which includes the PS3.
  2. SyStemDeMoN

    SyStemDeMoN Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,063
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +330
    The recent DVD screener of LOSERS has this protection. It is hidden in the audio track.

    Its a good idea and works. You can try playing a divx file, or then convert it to DVD and it still stops playing on a PS3.

    I think this is what the main reason for the last PS3 update is all about.

    And YES the protection still kicks in if your streaming to your PS3.
  3. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,359
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,881
    So will this stop you ripping a copy of a movie your have legitimately purchased and streaming it?
  4. SyStemDeMoN

    SyStemDeMoN Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,063
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +330
    Not sure yet, I think at the moment they are using on screeners to stop the good quality pirates being sold.

    But as it only affects BD players at the moment, it will be no major impact.
  5. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    I like the fact that in Chrome, you get a warning when trying to visit that site that it's importing something that contains malware!
  6. RottenFox

    RottenFox Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,054
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,291
    Added in System Update 3.10, as they added it to the User Manual/Guide, as a notice...right at the bottom..lol:

    PS3™ | Copyright and trademark notices

    Doesn't work on pc's, or anything else, just Blu-ray players, and the ps3.
    Last edited: May 7, 2010
  7. SyStemDeMoN

    SyStemDeMoN Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,063
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +330
    I think Sony are starting to push back Piracy now.

    The PS3 still remains unhackable, and now your not going to be able to play pirated material on it.

    Sony 1 - 0 Piracey

    Can anyone confirm that this protection is active on other Sony BD players with up to date FW ?
  8. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    So this is actually included in the released Xvid or whatever, and stops it being played on any system that has this protection ? It seems it's limited to "Line audio" only files...?

    Do you not think "they'll" just find a way of getting round it ?
    Last edited: May 7, 2010
  9. RottenFox

    RottenFox Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,054
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,291
    It's not just Sony Blu-ray players, it's going to be all of them, as Cinavia, is part of the AACS agreement now, it's mandatory, on all players, so if its not there now, expect it soon.

    media centres/streamers, like the popcorn hour, and WD ones, aren't affected, neither are pc's, dvd players, or any other avenue.

    I tried Chrome, and got the same warning as you..:nono: haa, but heres how the system works:

    "Movies protected by Cinavia technology carry inaudible codes embedded by the copyright owner in their audio tracks that indicate where and how they are allowed to be used. For example, movies that are being released to theaters can carry a Cinavia code that indicates that they are supposed to be duplicated by professional replicators and played back on professional projection equipment only," reads the official site.

    The TS version of "xxxxxxx", which uses "line" audio recorded through a headphone jack, had the watermark, and when added to the camera source, the audio did not match (it was searching for theatrical release) and is therefore muted when played back on Blu-ray players and the PS3, which have Cinavia DRM supported.


    With all this DRM, and Big Brother stuff from Blu-ray, I bet there will be plenty of people wishing HD-DVD was still around..:rotfl:
    Last edited: May 7, 2010
  10. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    So it's not going to affect x264 sources then, and line audio sources only, well, no big loss. It'll never be able to affect any of the other streamers due to their bespoke firmware that can be loaded on. Be interesting how this one pans out...
  11. akhlaq768

    akhlaq768 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    bloody hell, and i thought it just happended to me... luckily coming onto this forums has helped.... thought something was wrong with the PS3...

    is there anyway round this?
  12. DJ Ovengloves

    DJ Ovengloves Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,825
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +699
    Shouldn't that be Sony 1 - Consumers 0? :)

    It will be if it stops you ripping your own media!

  13. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    Use a different source.
  14. DJ Ovengloves

    DJ Ovengloves Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,825
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +699
    Or a 360 and PS3 Media Server (I think you need Windows 7 as well...going to play today)! :rotfl:

    EDIT:- Works on 360....flaky as hell though!

    ...wonder how much those popcorn hour things are :)

    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  15. Hillskill

    Hillskill Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    20,546
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,505
    I lurrrrrve my Popcorn hour. Its totally no frills but its a very solid and capable player. I have a half decent wired network in my house and it has worked faultlessly since day one streaming from my NAS, netbook, pc etc. I know some people are loathe to buy another box when technically the PS3 or 360 should suffice but.......its so simple to setup and use.
  16. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    No i meant a source without line audio...

    PS3MS is also affected i think.

    I personally wouldn't go for a PCH these days, go back a while and they were the best thing out there, but there's so many to choose from these days, WDTV/PlayON HD/Xtreamer/OPlay, i'd go for one of those..
  17. Hillskill

    Hillskill Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    20,546
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,505
    Tis a good point. Mine is 18months old now. I have no idea what the competition offer in comparison.
  18. nolive

    nolive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    with that sort of topic,could go anywhere so please dont blaim me.I am not trying to promote piracy by any means,just sharing my ps3 owner experience:(

    ist this affecting me today in my console usage:confused:
    well not yet:thumbsup:

    I have tried following playbacks

    my own DVDs bought on the high street in the UK until 2007 ripped either on the internal HDD or an external one>>>>>it works fine:D

    Some Divx or mp4 movies I got from "friends" latest ones dated 2009 and palyed from external HDD>>>>it works:D

    copy DVDs bought in Shanghai where I live now,latest ones from movies currently in theaters:rolleyes:>>>>>it works:D

    some yanks on afterdawn are claiming this DRM has already affected them, well me not so either the chinese are so clever that they found a work around already or I am missing the point of which category of content,and conditions of playback, this new DRM will actually trouble from now:nono:

    feel free to educate me:lesson:if mods dont mind:rolleyes:
  19. SyStemDeMoN

    SyStemDeMoN Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,063
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +330
    Its on 2 particular releases only so far Nolive.

    One is a TS release and one is a DVDscreener.

    What IS for sure is that we will see this type of encoding again, soon.
  20. nolive

    nolive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    thanks,i am getting more and more clear on that one...bit naughty if you want my opinion if that affects your home made rips from legally bought DVDs or Blurays:mad:

    I am sure that will help SONY to sell more consoles and go back to profitability:rotfl:

    anyway, will go to my 2 or 3 fav DVD shops in Shanghai to see if a DVD copy of Wolfman or the Losers,both movies involved, are indeed not playable on my console:suicide:

    will report back next week:rolleyes:
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  21. DJ Ovengloves

    DJ Ovengloves Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,825
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +699
    Me thinks a trip to the relevant subforum is in order! :smashin:

  22. marchudman

    marchudman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +80
    Que : a wave of new ripping software coming out in the next few months that allows you to bypass this.
  23. nolive

    nolive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    both the wolfman and the llosers arrived in my fav DVD shop, just came back home and tried them both,they work perfectly fine:rolleyes:

    either the chinese managed to bypass this DRM very quickly or the panic some dudes in the us:rolleyes:created few weeks ago is Bu****it:D
  24. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    Yeah but doesn't it only come into affect when there's a difference in audio sources ?
  25. twobells

    twobells Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    The X264 blu ray releases (The Losers) now fail after 30 minutes of play too as a result of Cinavia...:-(
  26. lordy

    lordy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The people in the DVD "shop" are not really any cleverer than anyone else that downloads pirate movies and knows how to read scene release reviews. The fact they need to use it as source of income probably shows how "clever" they really are.

    "You want D.V.D?"
  27. nolive

    nolive Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    dont want to argue cause its piracy topic:lesson:just let you know the girl runs two well sorted shops,can speak english with me,japanese with my wife and enjoys providing D.V.Ds then to people like me,and hundreds more, who want to:rolleyes:
    so call her not clever if you feel so,i dont think she gives a t***s:thumbsdow
  28. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    just got hit with one of these was watching takers then 20 mins in the message came up on the screen and the audio went off
  29. Axum

    Axum Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,137
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +815
    Fingers crossed the updates to the Showtime Media Player will sort this out for good ;)
  30. A2a

    A2a Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    809
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    I've read that (somehow) DVDFAB can now bypass the watermark - if you are looking to rip your own media.

    That showtime media player looks awesome, would be great if it could scrape for coverart - covers and backdrops etc. :)

Share This Page