Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cat7 Home network

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by ptammaro_3, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. ptammaro_3

    ptammaro_3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm purchasing a new build flat and have decided to run Cat7 cable throughout. It may be overkill just now but I figured I may as well fully future proof myself.

    I will have 4 ports in the living room 3 ports in each of the 2 bedrooms.

    My question is, I'm struggling to find a Cat7 network switch that doesn't cost a fortune so I'm wondering if it's ok to use a gigabit switch until the prices come down. If so, what switch would you recommend with PoE as an option??

    Thanks.
  2. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10,173
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,637
    Cat 7 is the cable, it has nothing to do with the switch.
    Switches are rated for Ethernet speed e.g. 1Gbit/sec and cable categories are about speed for a given length.
    For example Cat5e is good for Gigabit Ethernet up to 100 metres. I fitted Cat6a in case I wanted to run HDMI around the house.
    Basically if you only want networking then Cat5e is fine.
  3. blue max

    blue max Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7,743
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    Cat 6 is readily available and a good price. It also gives you a good amount of future proofing. Just put more cables than you need.
  4. ptammaro_3

    ptammaro_3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Does cat6 have enough bandwidth to carry 4k video and hd audio?
  5. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10,173
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,637
    If you look at 4K/HEVC as twice the bit rate of 1080p/AVC then that would
    Always!
  6. neilball

    neilball Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +315
    If you are using HDBT or HDBTLite then yes, upto the current HDMI V1.4 standard based on a maximum of 10.2 Gb/s. In fact good quality Cat5e is ok for this too.

    Whether HDBT can cope with V2.0 and 18Gb/s remains to be seen.

    This means with current HDBT you are good for 4K movies at 24fps over Cat5e/6/6a, but for 50/60fps you would need a new generation of extenders and until they are released we will not know what their cable requirements will be.

    If I were installing cable into my own house today I'd use Cat6a throughout including for all cable terminations, but only because I can get cable and terminations at little or no premium over Cat5e. When I built my house 7 years ago I used Cat5e and am happily using this for HD distribution using HDBT but have also not yet gone 4k (although I am ready once the kit becomes a little more common).
  7. ptammaro_3

    ptammaro_3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think cat7 will be the safest bet. Don't think it costs a huge amount more anyway and with it in place I shouldn't have an issue with 4k distribution.
  8. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10,173
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,637
    HDBT is compressed which wastes HD - it has to transcode to lower the bit rate.
    I assume the OP doesn't want to lose video quality.
  9. ptammaro_3

    ptammaro_3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    This is correct, I don't want to loose any video or audio quality.
  10. neilball

    neilball Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +315
    I'm not sure what you mean? HDBT delivers uncompressed video and audio over the cat cable. Are you confusing it with extenders that encode and transmit using Ethernet (which have to use compression to fit the higher bandwidth signal into a gigabit Ethernet link)?
  11. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10,173
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,637
    Apologies, I got it mixed up with another product.
  12. neilball

    neilball Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +315
    No worries :)

Share This Page