Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buying DIY Trade Tools

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by zoink, Feb 12, 2012.

1. zoink

zoink Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Hello

Could someone please recommend some websites where one could purchase trade tools such as drills, jig saws etc?

Thanks!

P.S. I'm new to DIY and wanting to have the base tools before embarking on work! lol ;)
  2. jtotheb

jtotheb Member

Ratings:
    +3
    Screwfix would be a good starting point
  3. Geps

Geps Member

Ratings:
    +103
    Another recommendation for Screwfix - I've used their returns service a couple of times now and it's been well worth it.
  4. rdmbfossa

rdmbfossa Member

Albums:
    Ratings:
    +39
    I buy quite a lot of tools for work and find ffx and toolstop both very good. Depends on your budget, I find Metabo stuff very good, quality tools should last a long time if you look after them.
  5. mifty12

mifty12 Member

Ratings:
    +1
    I am a carpenter and personally find screw fix over priced my recommendation would be www.itslondon.co.uk
  6. Daftvader1

Daftvader1 Member

Ratings:
    +2
  7. J-a-m-e-s_7

J-a-m-e-s_7 Member

Ratings:
    +77
  8. 27neth

27neth Active Member

Ratings:
    +387
  9. zoink

zoink Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the list guys! That's awesome! Now let the bargain hunting begin! :D
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  10. liamt

liamt Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +2,110
    op: get the best tools you can. buy cheap and you buy twice and end up with a bad job.

i would recommend Makita tools, very good. their jigsaw is awesome too. not cheap but should last years. black and decker just arent built to last.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  11. Geps

Geps Member

Ratings:
    +103
    Screwfix will price match so you don't need to worry about over paying ;)
  12. Yaka

Yaka Member

Ratings:
    +49