BT FON = Faster speed bonus!

Valen

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hey all

As I work in the industry (Mobile comms) and know quite a few people from BT, it was mentioned that if you have opted in with the BT FON scheme, they provide you with a faster connection! (Unofficially)

I regularly get 44mbps when downloading. (way over the 33mbps estimate and 4mbps over the 40mbps speed limit)

Has anybody else heard this? Seems like a good idea. (I live in an underpopulated area, so noone ever uses my wireless) It's a win win for me!

Thats not true at all.

1. You have been put on the 17a profile (and the speeds been uncapped)

or

2. antivirus is messing with you're download results.

Thats not true at all.

1. You have been put on the 17a profile (and the speeds been uncapped)

or

2. antivirus is messing with you're download results.

So your 100% sure it's not true?

What is telling you that you have 44mbps?

I haven't heard of anyone being 'uncapped' to give more than the standard 40mb. Mine connects at 53mb now, but still capped at 40mb.

As has been said though, the BT FON giving higher speeds is nonsense.

I used Nvidia drivers download link and ZEN broadband download files to get my speed, usually sits about 4.3 - 4.4 down. (4.30)

I used Nvidia drivers download link and ZEN broadband download files to get my speed, usually sits about 4.3 - 4.4 down. (4.30)

I think the confusion there is Mbps and mbps. If you say you are downloading a file at around 4.3 (I assume you mean MBps,megabytes per second) I can assume that's around 34.4mbps/megabits per second. I guess it depends on what the software is reporting in terms of either speed or file size.

File sizes are often quoted in Megabytes and transfer speeds on broadband using some speed checkers are megabits per second.
If you were downloading at 44Mbps (more than Infinity FTTC can handle at the moment anyway) then a file transfer speed would be around 5.5MegaBytes per second .