Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best NAS home media Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by irvsax, Feb 25, 2012.

1. irvsax

irvsax Member

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi all,

I am looking for an external hard drive to use as a NAS server to my TV etc at home so that i dont have to have my laptop on and plugged in etc if i want to watch something i have stored.

I also want to use it for remote access aswel from the laptop.

I currently have 2X1tb usb hard drives so the NAS drive would basically be an online backup of these drives.

I am very new to this tech, so all and any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks
  2. plarkster

plarkster Member

Ratings:
    +50
    What's your budget?

If it's around £50-60, then the D-Link DNS-320 ShareCenter Pulse or the Netgear MS2000 Stora seem good for the money - I'm trying to decide which to get myself.

If you're happy to spend more, have a look at a Synology, QNAP or ReadyNAS.
  3. irvsax

irvsax Member

Ratings:
    +3
    I think it will be a bit more than that. Want to get 2tB really to backup everything i already have at least.

Just been reading review of a Buffalo Linkstation Pro that seems quite good, but they say transfer rates are not brilliant, but then again, i cant find one in a similar price band that is better for speed.
  4. plarkster

plarkster Member

Ratings:
    +50
    You can put whatever size drive in you like. I think the biggest I've seen people use is 2 x 3TB, so either 6TB total or 3TB in RAID providing you get a 2 bay NAS like the models I linked to.

Just to clarify, the ShareCenter and Stora I linked to are empty so you need to buy the drives separately, although if you buy the drives at the same time some retailers will give you a small discount - Dabs offer a bundle deal on the ShareCenter and 2 x 2TB drives.
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
  5. irvsax

irvsax Member