Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ATI Radeon 9600XT Graphic Card Noisy fan

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards & Internal Video Devices' started by PINGLE, Apr 20, 2008.

1. PINGLE

PINGLE Member

Ratings:
    +1
    The fan on my graphics card;

Medion ATI Radeon 9600 XT

has recently become very noisy, taking the side off I can see it is still spinning but obviously there is a problem.

Can I easily get a replacement fan or do I need to replace the Gr card? Any help would be much appreciated, I am not very technical so please talk in layman terms.
  2. kennyhkw

kennyhkw Member

Ratings:
    +13
    Is it clogged up with dust? If so take the card out and use a small paintbrush to remove the dust. Make sure u have a hoover on next to it to catch all the dust.
  3. PINGLE

PINGLE Member

Ratings:
    +1
    That was my first thought but even after a good clean-up it is just as noisy, I just don,t know if it,s easy to find a replacement fan or if I need a new card.
  4. Miss Chief

Miss Chief Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,114
    Well, that card is rather getting on a bit so a new card, being an AGP card won't be that expensive. When i had problems with my old 9600Pro fan running slowly I couldn't find an aftermarket cooler for that card.

Something like This will be far faster than your current card, won't break the bank and you get free delivery from Scan thanks to this forum! If you game at all the 512MB version is only slightly more expensive.

(20 posts required in order to qualify for free delivery though.)
  5. kennyhkw

kennyhkw Member

Ratings:
    +13
    Dont bother with a 512mb card, jus costs more money and has no advantage wotsoever. Save some money and just get the 256 version.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. PINGLE

PINGLE Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your replies.