1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam FMJ BDP100 Blu-ray Player - Part II

Discussion in 'Arcam Forum' started by Ian_S, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    And the good news is.....everything appears to work fine now too!!

    Someone else will have to test 24p mode though. I'm gonna enjoy my Dr Who in rather nice upscaled definition :clap:
  2. turbo911

    turbo911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thats realy weird!!!, i booted my system up earlier and for the first time ever it played 24p framerate instantly spooky !!!
  3. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Good, must be working :)

    I can't test it. My panel isn't 24p capable but that sounds encouraging :)
  4. pers1972

    pers1972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Happy days, been really frustrated with discs skipping to the next chapter, looked on the arcam website couldn't find the firmware update, do you need to download or connect player online

    Got to say aside from this issue am made up with the bdp
  5. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    It's only available via Arcam and their dealers at the moment. Hopefully they may put it on the site to download as its done via the rear USB port.

    Out of interest have you compared the CD performance to your CD17?
  6. pers1972

    pers1972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have, the idea was a one box solution with the bdp, spent a while switching between the two and I couldn't really split them, even got the wife and two kids in on the act and we couldn't pick a winner,
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    That's good to hear as that's a £600 CD player. Factor in a very decent DVD upscaling performance and good BD playback with a decent case and its not that bad value.

    Flame suit at the ready ;-)
  8. pers1972

    pers1972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    When you stack it up like that it holds water, having followed the post with interest you might want to sleep in the suit just in case
    But in my opinion the bdp is as good as the cd17 and as you've mentioned it also has the bray and DVD playback to boot
  9. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Thanks for that.
    I have broad shoulders and also a history of disc spinners (CD/DVD/BR and of course CDi and Laserdisc). Gotta say this does do what it does rather well but sometimes it gets near to diminishing returns when it comes to DVD picture and BR performance. Shame it'll never do SACD or DVD-A but only have a couple of discs and if it behaves itself now we are on to a winner :)
  10. eimer3107

    eimer3107 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Glad to hear that your patience appears to have been rewarded - not least because I'm saving the pennies to upgrade, hopefully to the BDP100 and AVR400 !!
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. mjpav

    mjpav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Touch wood that this update works...After briefly using last night it behaved as it should...No skipping or freezing and pressing the remote eject button on power up didn't lock the unit...also the front panel display appeared to be able to count incrementally using CD's : ) I guess its other quirks (of hopefully the previous version) will be tested over the weekend.

    I even managed to watch Aliens 'Extended Version' for the first time on this player...so so far so good - fingers crossed : )
  12. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Good stuff.

    Can't say I ever noticed an issue with the Eject from standby but normally swiched mine out of standby first.

    Thought the counter seemed right too ;-)

    Not managed to break it yet so it seems quite stable!
  13. robase007

    robase007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    I have just downloaded the new software and
    My machine has completely crashed. It will
    Not play any disc at all. It states that it has been
    downloaded successfully but I can't eject or play anything
  14. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Was this downloaded from an Arcam link?

    Have you reset the player to defaults and power cycled as they advise?
  15. robase007

    robase007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    Matt from arcam sent me the link. I have powered down
    the unit and back up again. It just fails to play any disc
    If I manage to play anything it then just freezes and flashes
    Green on the screen.
  16. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    If you want to send me the link I can check it with mine just to make sure (PM this rather than disclose on here).

    Also, have you switched the unit off completely from the front and tried unplugging? May need a total "reboot".

    Other than that are all the HDMI settings right for the panel etc?
  17. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Oh well.....if anyone needs the firmware :D

    Same link as mine so that rules that out.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011
  18. robase007

    robase007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    Yes all hdmi settings correct but it just refuses to play anything.I get intermiitent green flashing on the screen and the disc just keeps spining.
  19. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Hmmm....doesn't sound good.

    I'd try the complete power down and try a USB flash of the firmware again.

    If that doesn't work then you are gonna be looking a moaning at Arcam :-S

    Looked through the manual but there doesn't appear to be anything more you can do to reset the player.
  20. BrianMW

    BrianMW Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,817
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +388
    I know this is an owners thread but, I would maybe edit/delete that link, if somebody doesn't follow Arcam's exact instructions then there might be a massive amount of expensive bricks out there tomorrow :blush:

    Mod's?
  21. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    I didn't post the link just quoted it. Feel free to remove it. I didn't post a link for that very same reason.
  22. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Removed quote :)
  23. Nuri58

    Nuri58 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hmm I just have been informed my player has been shipped after a long wait hopefully with the new FW so I guess the wait was due to this. Can someone please post what is the new FW version so I can check Wednesday when I pick it up? Thanks
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  24. highlanders

    highlanders Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    606
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
    Software version: IP.L037B109

    Software date: 20110118
  25. cjohnson6

    cjohnson6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    806
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +50

    If I was you I'd insist on the dealer checking and installing the newest firmware before you even so much as touch it. Where's the fun on going home and having to install firmware in your new 1000 pound toy?
  26. Nuri58

    Nuri58 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +45
    That was the issue - the dealer may claim just that so I want to be in a position to check - not that I doubt him from previous experience :)

    Highlanders - thanks for providing the info :smashin:
  27. matt5000

    matt5000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have just installed the new firmware. Piece of cake! It's amazing!

    My BDP100 now beams a 3D hologram to the centre of my living room (it must automatically analyse the room and adjust accordingly). Any BD, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS Cassette, Laserdisc, CD-R and probably others I've not tried yet are converted to UHDTV format and rendered in open space so well that it's "like being there". So far I watched Inception and I swear Leo responded to me being in the way.

    Of course, it also now plays SACD and DVDA as well as CD all better IMHO than any other player on the planet. I can also stream iPod / iPhone and computer music to the player wirelessly using Airplay. The whole player is now fully voice controlled too and knew my name when I switched it on just after the firmware update.

    Furthermore, the player itself is now 12kg heavier. I thought that odd so I opened it up and lo and behold, brand new state of the art PSU as well as all sorts of other gadgetry (some labelled "CLASSIFIED") is present. There are also now multi-channel 7.1 analogue outs on the back.

    All the irritatingly unaesthetic badges on the front have disappeared and the FMJ badge that still remains matches precisely the one on my AVR600 (which incidentally seems to be capable of video passthrough all of a sudden).

    So, well done Arcam; I never doubted you! Can't wait for the next update that will hopefully allow me to control the player and its settings by telepathy (2 - 3 weeks Arcam reckon).

    Oppo Schmoppo!

    :devil:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  28. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,058
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Wow! How unbelievably funny and relevant to the thread. I've had a bad day but your post takes the biscuit! Go troll somewhere else!
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  29. turbo911

    turbo911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Is this true might get some good reviews now:rotfl:
  30. matt5000

    matt5000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Blimey, I was only trying to inject some light-heartedness into the thread! Sorry to have upset you. I own the player and the AVR600 and am happy with both. Was just a bit of fun. Hope you have a better day today... :)

Share This Page