Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple TV2 - HDMI Issues Colour inversion HDMI Issue

Discussion in 'Apple TV' started by martmiller, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I posted this on the main thread over on the Apple boards, but it was deleted and I was told that the board was only for discussion of "Released and Supported apple products".

    But it did not say I could not discuss it here!

    I have a Philips 42PFL7404H/12

    Apple are releasing 4.3 of IOS at some point and they have issued 2 betas so far.

    Beta 2 was released on the 19th of Jan, I did not try Beta 1 so not sure if this has already been tried but it seems to have added an option in the "Audio & Video" settings for "HDMI Output" (I cannot remember it being there before)

    the options allow for the following settings

    "Auto" - Default --- Inverse Colours after about 20 mins
    "YCbCr" -------------- Inverse colours after a few hours and reboots
    "RGB High" ----------- testing so far so good after a few days*This seems to be the best option for Philips
    "RGB Low"

    so far the Auto setting still gave me the problem of colour inversion
    been running on the "YCbCr" setting for over an hour and apart for 1 blip where the screen went green for a split second then corrected itself.

    So far so good, but not out of the woods or counting my chickens yet!

    Cheers
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2011
  2. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    Fab! I'll be watching this thread...
  3. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    still fine......
  4. fan232

    fan232 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tuned in as well.
    Holding thumbs...
  5. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    must be nearly 3 hours now......
  6. fan232

    fan232 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Restart the ATV2 and give it another hour.
  7. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Okie dokie....
  8. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    "YCbCr" eventually gave me in inverse colours of badness after over 3 hours of being fine, a few reboots :-(

    Testing "RGB High" now ..........
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. fan232

    fan232 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    damn... :((
  10. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    yeah :(
  11. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    !"£$%^*&*"&£*^(q£&^q))qig£wejy$w(^yh
  12. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    "RGB High" been ok for the last hour.

    Been throwing lots at it and so far it's behaved....

    will pick this up again tomorrow

    "RGB High" been ok for the last hour.

    Been throwing lots at it and so far it's behaved....

    will pick this up again tomorrow
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2011
  13. cbriffa

    cbriffa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been following and contributing to the thread on the Apple Support site. Can you point us in the right direction for information on what's required to install Beta versions on the Apple TV? I understand you need to register as an Apple developer? Is it worth doing this simply to install beta versions or is it just best to wait for the next update?
  14. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    This thread should help.

    If you're a developer but not interested in testing beta releases, then it is better to wait for the official update.
  15. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    Pardon, but what's RGB High? Versus RGB Low?
  16. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Technically?.... No idea :D

    They are just two of the options for "HDMI Output" that you can set.

    Like the dude over at the apple thread.... "RGB High" is still working for me :thumbsup:
  17. devs

    devs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,491
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi guys, I'm running version 4.1.1 and could really do with this fix. However when i go to update it tells me that I have the latest version? Any thoughts?

    Many Thanks,

    Devs. :smashin:
  18. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    it is only in beta at the moment, Apple have not said when they will be releasing it as production software.

    To get access to the beta, you need to join the IOS developer program.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. devs

    devs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,491
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    Many thanks Mart, did spot that ;)
  20. itseme

    itseme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installed the 4.3 beta 2 (you dont need to register your uuid). switched to hdmi mode RGB High and guesss what.. nooo more problems :) It soleved it!
    my tv : Sony KDL-40EX402
  21. Tyr

    Tyr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Step 1: hook Appletv up to mac with usb cable only (no power, no hdmi)
    Step 2: hold down [option/alt] key, click restore and choose beta firmware file with file picker (see imodzone.net)
    Step 3: there is no step 3
  22. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    Step 3: set the appropriate video settings in "HDMI Output" and watch a really long movie with no interruption.
    Step 4: email Apple everyday for quick public release of iOS 4.3
  23. quemlar

    quemlar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gang,

    I'm Really looking forward to the public release of this firmware. Can the beta firmware be installed using a PC, does it have to be a MAC?
    I am one of the frustrated ATV2 users using a Philips flatscreen TV, I get by for now by changing the HDMI inputs when the colour inversion happens.

    Fingers and toes crossed now.

    Q
  24. alan99999

    alan99999 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've installed beta on AppleTV from a PC (rather than MAC). No need to join developer programme or use UDID. Just follow the instructions above, but hold down shift key when clicking on restore (in iTunes) and you will get file browse and select screen instead of message saying it's checking with Apple for newer version. The RGB High option is found under Settings, Audio & Video, HDMI Output - hitting select button on remote cycles the options. No inverted colours for me for a long while on my Philips 40PFL9704H. Apple has been spectacularly unhelpful to its customers on this one. Alan
  25. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    So, beta testers, still OK on RGB High?
  26. fan232

    fan232 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can confirm that IOS beta 4.3b with RGB High, works perfectly as suggested by previous users.
    My tv Philips 32pfl9604.
    No green screen no nothing, perfect watching all the way through.
    2 full length movies.

    Thanks Apple, better late than never.
  27. quemlar

    quemlar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed IOS beta 4.3b last night and watched all of 'Salt' without any colour problems. So I would conclude using RGB high is a fix for this issue. I have a 56 Inch Philips 21:9 TV.

    I note this beta is a bit buggy in other areas, the system rebooted once or twice while I was selecting YouTube videos and home sharing isn't working, when I try to access my iTunes library running on my PC I can see the media and can browse it but when I play an item the unit reboots. Anyway I guess these bugs will be ironed out when its a public release. By the way I hunted my junk box for a Mini USB cable and lo and behold its the same type cable for the recent Nokia phones! But for now the main purpose I bought ATV2 was for movies so not too put out by the home sharing problem once its ironed out, might be something I'm doing wrong as well so I'll reboot all PCs, switches and my router when I'm back home.
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2011
  28. CamFire

    CamFire Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +520
    Looks like the ATV2 just needs a small firmware update to re-enable the HDMI output selection - and no more of any iOS changes.
  29. Tyr

    Tyr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still working fine for me :thumbsup: (This is a mac mini + appletv2 + sony kld-32ex402.)
    For the record, I've also seen none of the issues mentioned by quemlar, no reboots, home sharing and youtube work fine, etc. This is a beta version though so YMMV.
  30. martmiller

    martmiller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    still working for me :clap:

Share This Page