Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anthem MRX Series Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Integrated Amplifiers & Receivers' started by NickEdin, Jun 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. soupdragon

    soupdragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Kronos AV are offering 15% of all purchases over £500 until the end of the month as long as you trade in a working/faulty amp of some description. Must be instore purchase - no buying online.

    @ Rockdanger - are you liasing with the guys in Dungannon to get yours by any chance?
  2. Buckster

    Buckster Moderator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,468
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +225
    soupdragon - nice - I wonder if my 2 channel Cambridge Audio amp would suffice ? :)

    makes the MRX300 - £934 :)
  3. soupdragon

    soupdragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    I've a limited edition 'break-dance' ghetto blaster from 1984 in the garage with a broken cassette deck which may suffice!
  4. Andy.T

    Andy.T Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,624
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +76
    I emailed them and they said it can be anything at all, doesn't have to be high end. I'm sure a Cambridge Audio amp would be fine. :)
  5. Buckster

    Buckster Moderator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,468
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +225
    excellent thanks :) sure ain't trading in my AX10Ai !

    but my Cambridge Audio amp does work - just has been sat under our bed for at least 7 years now as a spare!

    where is their London shop ? I tried finding the storefront on google-earth streetview but couldn't find it
  6. Andy.T

    Andy.T Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,624
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +76
    To be clear it does need to be an amp (2 channel or multichannel). Not sure the ghetto-blaster would wash heh. ;)
  7. soupdragon

    soupdragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Probably not!
    Just need to stop at a car boot sale and find something suitable ;)
  8. AndrewH13

    AndrewH13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    10,503
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,616
    Notice all Anthem are out of stock on their website though.
  9. Buckster

    Buckster Moderator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,468
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +225
    I "think" - at a guess that maybe as they do not allow Anthems to be sold online therefore its a way of stopping you ordering online .... hopefully
  10. soupdragon

    soupdragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Correct- instore collection only as mentioned earlier.
  11. Andris L

    Andris L Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,141
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +633
    Or at your local recycling point ;).
  12. Andy.T

    Andy.T Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,624
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +76
    Awww... be nice to 'em guys it's a very generous offer. And I don't want them to pull it before I get mine... maybe. ;)
  13. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,359
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,287
    Thanks for the info.
  14. Andris L

    Andris L Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,141
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +633
    I can smell something brewing :D.
  15. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,237
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +270
    Oh dear.......
  16. sida

    sida Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have I started off something?

    Then again, I wouldn't trust anything written on Internet ;)
  17. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,237
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +270
    Not with me......
  18. Andy.T

    Andy.T Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,624
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +76
    Sida - Have people had problems with Kronos then? I did a quick search but couldn't find much.
  19. sida

    sida Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just me personally.
  20. Andris L

    Andris L Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,141
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +633
    In fact it's not quite true. The retailer in question don't have an active facility on Anthem products to enable people to purchase online! ;)
  21. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,237
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +270
    Which is the same as all the retailers?
  22. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,896
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,577

    No, just in sunny Belfast and I never knew there was a dealer down there. I just thought Dungannon mainly consisted of radioactive farm animals and some sorta human / fish hybrid people.
  23. soupdragon

    soupdragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Not sure about the hybrid people but they've got a Kronos av with 15% off anthems :)
    Worth the risk of being attacked by a banjo player I say!
    You need to trade in an old amp though- I just fished this out of the river along with an abandoned shopping trolley....

    Attached Files:

  24. sida

    sida Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    As I mentioned it was telephone offer and I presumed it would have been either over the phone purchase or online with the code. Hence online in the broad term not just as click on the website to buy option. Should have worded it differently.

    I didn't say I purchased it from them either.
  25. Canti1982

    Canti1982 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,075
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +96
    Out of interest, if you took an MRX300 with a power amp could you use the existing channels on the MRX to bi-amp or would they not cut it? Would it be better to just have surrounds running from it?
  26. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,896
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,577

    Tis a fine saving indeed, but I would give me dealer first kick of the ball and certainly mention it to him and ask him if there's any wiggle room. The after sales service is the main big thing for me, it's amazing how quickly some retailers could give less of a **** after they have your money - I'm not saying that about Kronos, I know nothing about them of course.

    I'm fairly confident that my main dealer would look after me right if something went wrong even if it was 100% my fault and sometimes that's worth the extra few quid.
  27. soupdragon

    soupdragon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Very true, if you've a good relationship already then pays to keep it sweet :)
  28. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,896
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,577
    Any spare channels aren't assignable for bi amping due to how the channels are assigned, it's why I have to split the signal at the pre-out to bi amp mine. I suppose you could use the surrounds from the mrx for the rears and then use the surround channels on the power amp to bi amp the fronts - I think :confused:

    It would be ok I'm sure you'd get away with it on the rears especially if you weren't using a dedicated large room and large hi quality surrounds.
  29. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,359
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,287
    You could do that in theory, but ONLY if the internal gain levels of the MRX match that of the external power amps exactly. If they weren't then as you raised and lowered the master volume on the MRX the balance between the HF and LF output on the speakers would alter, a bit like being forced to change the tone controls and volume simultaneously.

    That would require somehow figuring out precisely what channel level setting on the MRX matches that of the external power amp. You would then have to leave the channel levels for those channels exactly at that point and then tailor all the other channel level adjustments around the ones that are fixed to match the external power amp's gain levels.

    This would almost completely negate the ability to run ARC on the system as that sets all the channel levels for you.

    To put it another way, it would be more trouble that it's worth to try and do correctly and if you want to biamp you'd be better getting a 4 channel power amp and run the fronts off that.

    I hope that is clear as mud for you. :)

    Cheers,

    Chris.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
  30. Canti1982

    Canti1982 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,075
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +96
    Thanks Chris, yeah that makes sense. I did not think it would work but it almost feels like a waste to have those amp channels sit there and do nothing.

    Might have persuaded the gf to allow a centre on a shelf but only on the condition the I have a whole bunch on knick knacks around it to make it less obvious.

    Things on the 600 front have gone quite so I might have to find a new buyer :/
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page