Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advent System Restore

Discussion in 'Computer Systems' started by Melkor, Jan 25, 2006.

  1. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well i'm trying to reformat my PC and yet my desktop, an Advent 3316, will not boot from my Advent System Recovery Disk. I am fortunate to have two and i'm placing one in both drives and also seperately and it will not boot from the drive. Any advice on how I can fix this?

    Thanks
  2. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,356
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,880
    When the machine boots up go into the BIOS (normally Delete/F2/F12 or similar) and change the boot order so that your PC boots from the CD drive before the hard disk
  3. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Done that already, set CD to boot first - still nothing
  4. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,356
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,880
    It should come up with a prompt saying "Hit any key to boot from CD-Rom".if you miss this it will still boot from the HD

    If it isn't doing this recheck that the boot order change you made has been saved in the BIOS
  5. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have, still not responding at all :/
  6. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,356
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,880
    Most advent PC's do come with a pair of restore discs.

    Disc 1 bootable, Disc 2 second part of restore

    You sure they are two discs the same not a Disc1 & Disc2, with Disc1 being the bootable one?
  7. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Tried both disks in both drives. Really dont know what else to try
  8. Ayub

    Ayub Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,955
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    are you using the restore disk or the recovery disk. Advents come with two. One has the main o/s and the other has all the drivers for the boards etc.
  9. Ayub

    Ayub Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,955
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    stick the idsk in the first rom/ and them do it again. Also itmay be worth cleaning the disk.
  10. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Im using the System Restore disk and yeah ive cleaned em
  11. Ayub

    Ayub Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,955
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    stick the idsk in the first rom/ and them do it again. Also itmay be worth cleaning the disk.
  12. Ayub

    Ayub Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,955
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    try booting only from cd rom an dnot h/d etc disable them if not fdisk it and then run the advent disk.
  13. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Done that
  14. Ayub

    Ayub Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,955
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    format it then run the disk that works 8/10 times.
  15. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    how do i format it?
  16. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,356
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,880
    Wouldn't bother with the format, have never EVER known a formatted hard disk make any difference to whether your PC will boot from a CD or not! (and I install XP about 20 times in an average week!)

    Sounds like your restore CD is not bootable for some reason. either this or your BIOS still hasn't picked up the boot order change.

    Do you see the prompt when it asks you to press a key to boot from CD?

    Next thing I'd do if I was you is to "Borrow" an XP cd from a friend and see if your machine boots from this, then install XP using the OEM sticker off the side of your case.

    Could always try your "bootable" restore cd in a friends PC as well.
  17. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,356
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,880
    Just had another thought.

    If you are using a USB keyboard you will need to find and enable the option in the BIOS for "USB Keyboard support"

    Other wise the keyboard will only work in the BIOS POST screen and will not respond on the next screen when the "Press any key to boot from CD" prompt comes up.
  18. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    I am using a USB Keyboard, but im not getting any message prompts at all. It seems i'll have to try and get hold of a XP disk or something because im not getting anywhere fast at the moment.
  19. Uridium

    Uridium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,356
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,880
    It's possible that your BIOS may not give you the "press to boot from CD prompt".

    Make sure "USB keyboard support" is enabled in the BIOS and remove everything other than your CD drive from the boot devices list.

    Failing that it will probably have to be a borrowed XP disk next
  20. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    still nothing, i guess ill find an xp disk somehow
  21. gavdon

    gavdon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had problems with the Advent discs few years ago. I contacted them and they made sure I had all the relevant serial numbers so that they could send out the latest version of the discs. Could be worth trying them if you think the discs are the problem.
  22. Melkor

    Melkor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Got an XP disk and its still not working - I guess its the CD drives. Is there any other way I can reformat system that doesnt include the drives?

Share This Page