Member Log In

Not a Member Yet?

It only takes a minute to start enjoying the benefits of AVForums membership, and it's free!

Equipment Sales,Inc TAG...also eBay scammers warning

Post Reply
Old 05-01-2005, 7:36 AM   #1
Senior Moderator
alexs2's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Thanks: Gave 584, Got 1,625
Posts: 13,772
Equipment Sales,Inc TAG...also eBay scammers warning

Please could any potential sellers of TAG or other equipment read the forum rules regarding sales,and place their equipment ads in the appropriate section (AV Classifieds forum) of the AVForums.

Do NOT attempt to conduct or elicit sales via PM,as this is clearly against the trading rules,and will result in your trade being removed,and a probable ban.

Read the rules here.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=74139

Last edited by alexs2; 05-01-2005 at 7:39 AM.
  Quote
Advert
Log in or sign up to remove
Old 25-07-2006, 2:36 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
alexs2's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Thanks: Gave 584, Got 1,625
Posts: 13,772
Scam Warnings

Just a quick warning for all who may be interested.

As you all know there are a lot of scammers operating on eBay,but recently the numbers working the high-end hi-fi market are increasing dramatically,with at least 2 whole sets of up to 150 items being listed each day.

Currently one of these is a TAG AV192R,and there are also large number of Levinson and Krell ads going.

The common threads are as follows:

1>All are 3 day listings.
2>All are US based,despite the seller's location.
3>All ask for contact and payment to an email address(usually MSN,Hotmail or Yahoo)
4>All offer an apparent bargain in the shape of very expensive items for a "Buy-it-now" price of around $800/£800/E800 or thereabouts.

Whilst I am sure that all regulars here are aware of these,for anyone tempted,please beware.

Last edited by alexs2; 25-07-2006 at 3:01 PM.
  Quote
Thanks from:
lenny (25-07-2006), proux (25-07-2006)
Old 09-08-2006, 8:40 PM   #3
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Derby
Thanks: Gave 115, Got 36
Posts: 542
another scam here i believe

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ARCAM-AV8-AV-P...QQcmdZViewItem

gets you to look here and directs you to another log-in, look at the address, its is not an ebay address so dont log-in.
this is a way of getting hold of usernames and passwords


  Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 9:39 AM   #4
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Thanks: Gave 15, Got 18
Posts: 177
Re: Equipment Sales,Inc TAG...also eBay scammers warning

Interesting posting:

Says it is a Pre Amp yet pictures are of front of Intregrated and rear of power amp!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TAG-MCLAREN-AU...QQcmdZViewItem
  Quote
Old 14-10-2007, 1:20 PM   #5
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Thanks: Gave 1, Got 3
Posts: 83
Re: Equipment Sales,Inc TAG...also eBay scammers warning

Bargain or scam......we all know the answer!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Tag-McLaren-AV...QQcmdZViewItem
  Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 1:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
Mr_Orange's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Thanks: Gave 137, Got 251
Posts: 2,838
Thumbs down Re: Equipment Sales,Inc TAG...also eBay scammers warning

Possible scam alert:http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA:IT&ih=015.

The photographs and the serial number, visible in one of the photos, are identical to an auction that ended on 6th July 2008. The description is also mostly the same, and too alike for comfort.

Apologies if this is a genuine sale, and the seller is a member here.

EDIT: I may have jumped the gun here. After a bit more digging around it seems the seller may be the buyer from the auction in July. He perhaps copied and pasted the advert, instead of writing his own!

.

Last edited by Mr_Orange; 01-09-2008 at 4:57 PM.
  Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 5:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: East Yorkshire
Thanks: Gave 208, Got 124
Posts: 2,543
Re: Equipment Sales,Inc TAG...also eBay scammers warning

I have done that with a few items.

Use someone elses description and changing the relevant bits.

Life is too short to reinvent the wheel
  Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 4:44 PM   #8
Member
mabu's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks: Gave 10, Got 1
Posts: 111
Is this the right place to warn about Ebay scams or frauds?

Currently offered DVD32FLR is a fraud:
Tag McLaren DVD32 FLR Referenz High-End DVD / CD Player bei eBay.de: (endet 06.12.10 01:06:36 MEZ)
Account was hacked. I purchased one but did not transfer money yet.
I talked to the real seller (mumpsbagge), he does not know about. Don't transfer money to this bank account:
JOSEPH SORGO
000110449606
IBAN IT89C0316501600000110449606
SWIFT/BIC IWBKITMM
Bank
IwBank Spa Italien
  Quote
Thanks from:
alexs2 (07-12-2010)
Old 07-12-2010, 11:09 AM   #9
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newport, Isle of Wight
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
Posts: 21
Another possible scam

Anybody know about this?

Tag McLaren 100X5R:10 7 Channel Power Amp - Ozfreeonline Classifieds Ad

Seems too good to be true, doesn't it? Been in contact with the seller, and through very broken English they are trying to convince me that it's all OK. Shipping would be £140, so £417 in total for a 100x5R:10, which is a damned fine price. I'm very tempted, as it's low enough that it wouldn't ruin me if it does turn out to be a scam.

Currently asking him for the serial number. How can I verify that it is genuine if I have the number?
  Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 4:17 AM   #10
Senior Member
Mr_Orange's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Thanks: Gave 137, Got 251
Posts: 2,838
You'd need to contact IAG to get the serial number verified. It does seem far too cheap though, so be careful.
  Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 7:49 PM   #11
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Thanks: Gave 29, Got 4
Posts: 232
Not a scam !

MOD EDIT...read the trading rules.
  Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 10:53 AM   #12
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Thanks: Gave 29, Got 4
Posts: 232
Er, "you do not have permission to access this page"....can't read the trading rules.
And a question - if you're selling kit "elsewhere" - can the AVForums trading rules apply anyway ?
  Quote
Post Reply



Thread information and display options
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off