What software do I need?

CyBeRkId2002

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Basically I have never done any video editing before but as part of my job have been asked to put a video file onto a dvd, along with a photo slideshow. It should also have a nice menu if possible. I have managed to get the video onto dvd. So now comes the software selection. My key requirements are:

Simplish to use - doesnt have to be too basic as long as it is fairly intuitive
Take video in vob format and be able to chop and edit this. Funky scene transitions (such as Fade in and out etc.) would be a nice addition.
Be able to build a simple slideshow from jpg files, preferably with music in the background.
Be able to create a simple menu.

Preferably the software will be sub £200.00.

Cheers,
Michael :thumbsup:

Sonys Vegas Movie Studio +DVD (Platinum) is a suggestion that can do this

Any of the mainstream budget ( Adobe Premiere Elements3 which has a package with Adobe Photshop Elements 5) and Ulead Video Studio 10+ are both capable but the " how you get on with them" factor probably matters the most as they are all sub £100

VOB :mpeg editing is much better SVMS ver 7 and any PQ loss related to the absence of "smart rendering" is IMO minimal

Dedicated Mpeg "Editors" are able to edit mpegs with minimal Q loss but many lack the features of "full" NLE software. I Ulead video Studio 9/10 are Full NLE with "smart rendering" which allows mpeg editing with minimal PQ loss but Its usability is something you either love or cant stand..

I generally use Proshow Gold for slideshows then output as an Mpeg which I then use in a DVD either Standalone slide show or incorporate into the main video

All the Software suggested have trial downloads to help you try before you buy