Uh, Oh, newbie question!

AngelEyes

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Hi Chaps,

I know zero about seperates as I have only ever owned an integrated amp/receiver.

I am looking to spend around 2k on a 5.1 system and wondering if it is worth considering a seperates route rather than integrated. It would be nice to go for a setup that will allow me to add another amp later for 7.1.

As I said I am a complete novice so any advice would be very welcome. Even if is 'dream on' :)

Thanks.

Do you mean £2k for the pre & power amps alone or the whole shebang inc speakers?

spiver said:
Do you mean £2k for the pre & power amps alone or the whole shebang inc speakers?

lol I did mean just the Processor and Amps, (not the whole shebang) I am aware that 2k is not a lot of budget for this on it's own but I am curious to learn the advantages of a seperates approach.

It depends upon the route you want to take new or second hand?

If new then the best bet is a Rotel 1068 and 1075 power amp. Great system. I've got the 1068 and a 985 MK ii which is pretty near identical. No auto setup but has a great sound.

Second hand i'd say buy as good a processor as you can afford and a bit less on the amp. Then later save to buy a better amp to run the Front L&R and leave the 5 channel amp to run the centre and the surround channels.

Second hand for 2k you get get a Meridian 568.2 processor which is very highly rated and a power amp like the one i've got a Rotel 985 Mk ii and then can get a more powerful amp for the stereo side at a later date.

It's really a case of read as much as you can about the processors you appear to like and go for it.

A good TAG processor is still worthwhile, but if you read on the tag forum... i'd be a little nervous if there were any problems with it.

Again could get a new Arcam AVP700 processor and a cheaper secondhand power amp.

I'm not sure how much secondhand Arcam FMJ AV8's are going for now, maybe possible to get one of them?