AVForums

Our philosophy in our forums, reviews, podcasts and feature videos is to promote audio and visual excellence by gathering and sharing the best information and resources available.

Help

To begin please visit our help section »

Not a Member Yet?

It only takes a minute to start enjoying the benefits of AVForums membership, and it's free!

Member Log in

HiviZone legit?

Post Reply
Old 06-09-2007, 12:55 AM   #1
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Experience Points:
4,029, Level: 14
Points: 4,029, Level: 14 Points: 4,029, Level: 14 Points: 4,029, Level: 14
Activity: 8.3%
Activity: 8.3% Activity: 8.3% Activity: 8.3%
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 10
Posts: 808
HiviZone legit?

Does anyone know about http://www.hivizone.com/local-shop/projector.htm?? Is it legit?

Whats the drawback of getting a Hong Kong spec projector? Was just wondering cause the pj's work out pretty cheap this way.
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 9:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Preston, Lancs
Experience Points:
4,333, Level: 15
Points: 4,333, Level: 15 Points: 4,333, Level: 15 Points: 4,333, Level: 15
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 43, Got 30
Posts: 1,061
Re: HiviZone legit?

Yip, legit. I had a AE1000 from them a month or two ago and it took 2 working days for delivery. Just add vat and around £90 delivery onto the price you see on his site.

Do a search for hivizone and you will see only good recommendations.
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:44 AM   #3
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Experience Points:
4,029, Level: 14
Points: 4,029, Level: 14 Points: 4,029, Level: 14 Points: 4,029, Level: 14
Activity: 8.3%
Activity: 8.3% Activity: 8.3% Activity: 8.3%
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 10
Posts: 808
Re: HiviZone legit?

Cheers!

Hmmm, just got a reply from them saying the warranty is only valid in Hong Kong though- any ways round this?
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Aberdeen
Experience Points:
6,572, Level: 19
Points: 6,572, Level: 19 Points: 6,572, Level: 19 Points: 6,572, Level: 19
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 22, Got 65
Posts: 1,873
Re: HiviZone legit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pumauk View Post
Cheers!

Hmmm, just got a reply from them saying the warranty is only valid in Hong Kong though- any ways round this?
Move to Hong Kong?

Seriously, I doubt it. I would have thought that it may have had a worldwide warranty though.
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 11:05 AM   #5
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Experience Points:
4,029, Level: 14
Points: 4,029, Level: 14 Points: 4,029, Level: 14 Points: 4,029, Level: 14
Activity: 8.3%
Activity: 8.3% Activity: 8.3% Activity: 8.3%
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 10
Posts: 808
Re: HiviZone legit?

I'm off to Hong Kong then!

But seriously, as per their email:

"The price of Panasonic AE1000 is US$2,690 and the shipping cost to UK by UPS Express is US$190. Thus, the total amount is US$2,880. The Panasonic AE1000 will work out of the box in UK. It is the same as the one selling in UK. It comes with English on-screen menu and user's manual. However, the warranty is valid in Hong Kong only."
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 11:41 AM   #6
JustJB
Guest
Posts: n/a
Re: HiviZone legit?

Thats a great deal, I'll send them an email as well regarding this and see what the response is. I know some people in Hong Kong so I could probably ship it back for repair (though obviously incurring the delivery charge) if it had to be repaired by Panasonic HK.

Keep us posted if you find any more out.
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 12:38 PM   #7
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Burscough, Lancs
Experience Points:
9,422, Level: 23
Points: 9,422, Level: 23 Points: 9,422, Level: 23 Points: 9,422, Level: 23
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 146, Got 51
Posts: 694
Re: HiviZone legit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pumauk View Post
I'm off to Hong Kong then!

But seriously, as per their email:

"The price of Panasonic AE1000 is US$2,690 and the shipping cost to UK by UPS Express is US$190. Thus, the total amount is US$2,880. The Panasonic AE1000 will work out of the box in UK. It is the same as the one selling in UK. It comes with English on-screen menu and user's manual. However, the warranty is valid in Hong Kong only."
So say it was a Hong Kong item, does anyone know if, for example Panasonic or Sony UK would still repair a PJ albeit by making a charge? Or would they refuse to even deal with it?

As long as there are no killer expensive parts in a PJ then for the discount on offer it might be worth taking the risk?
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 9:31 PM   #8
pal pal is offline
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: coventry
Experience Points:
5,448, Level: 17
Points: 5,448, Level: 17 Points: 5,448, Level: 17 Points: 5,448, Level: 17
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 13, Got 12
Posts: 175
Re: HiviZone legit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pumauk View Post
I'm off to Hong Kong then!

But seriously, as per their email:

"The price of Panasonic AE1000 is US$2,690 and the shipping cost to UK by UPS Express is US$190. Thus, the total amount is US$2,880. The Panasonic AE1000 will work out of the box in UK. It is the same as the one selling in UK. It comes with English on-screen menu and user's manual. However, the warranty is valid in Hong Kong only."
You do realise that this pj is now available from one of the forum advertisers for £1795 with 3 year warranty
  Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:21 PM   #9
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Experience Points:
9,144, Level: 22
Points: 9,144, Level: 22 Points: 9,144, Level: 22 Points: 9,144, Level: 22
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 81, Got 36
Posts: 924
Re: HiviZone legit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pal View Post
You do realise that this pj is now available from one of the forum advertisers for £1795 with 3 year warranty
where???????????
thanks
  Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 6:46 AM   #10
Prominent Member
 
SeedyR's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Experience Points:
13,609, Level: 28
Points: 13,609, Level: 28 Points: 13,609, Level: 28 Points: 13,609, Level: 28
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Thanks: Gave 357, Got 478
Posts: 4,091
Re: HiviZone legit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiev View Post
where???????????
thanks
http://www.royjowetthomecinema.co.uk...06c588be8768b3
  Quote
Post Reply

Powered by  
 Latest popular product prices
Aiptek PocketCinema T15 
4 prices from
 £90.53 Click to show/hide the offers

Optoma Pico PK120 
3 prices from
 £134.99 Click to show/hide the offers

Acer C110 
2 prices from
 £149.95 Click to show/hide the offers

Dukane ImagePro 8758 
1 price
 £192.98 Click to show/hide the offers

Optoma Pico PK301 
4 prices from
 £248.97 Click to show/hide the offers

Optoma DS211 
6 prices from
 £228.96 Click to show/hide the offers

Acer X110P 
7 prices from
 £238.75 Click to show/hide the offers

Benq MS500 
5 prices from
 £238.00 Click to show/hide the offers

 Updated February 12th at 8:30am. Prices include delivery.


Thread information and display options
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off