AVForums.com is the UK's biggest & best home consumer electronics discussion resource New to AVForums.com? Start by reading our introduction here.


Go Back   AVForums.com > Movies, TV Programmes and Music > On Disc and Downloaded > Movie Suppliers and Technology

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2005, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,491
iTrader: (6)
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 125
internetdownloads.org - what do you think?

www.internetdownloads.org

Just found these via google, they are offering 6 months of unlimited movie downloads for $24.95, they state that they have 'War of the Worlds' available and are legal

I want to sign up but am a little concerned that is less than kosher, any opinions?

thanks
lisa
lisag is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
wiz
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 372
iTrader: (3)
Thanks: Gave 11, Got 7
Sounds iffy to me!
__________________
Panasonic TH-37PX7B, Onkyo 875 ,
Sony DVP-NS955, , Sky+
Front Mission 773, Center Canton CD50, Rear Mission 70DS
Marantz RC5400
wiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 1:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 12,047
iTrader: (129)
Thanks: Gave 12, Got 595
They are just charging you to download a P2P program and its not legal, below is a statement taken from their site...

Quote:
FILESHARING USING GROKSTER NETWORKS IS NOT LEGAL IN THE USA AS COURT DESITION MADE IN JUNE, 27, 2005

Last edited by Indiana Jones; 02-07-2005 at 1:10 PM.
Indiana Jones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 3:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
DanH's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 25, Got 52
Its a scam. They are selling nothing more than software which can already be had for free. (Check out the mp3/video player, its Winamp)
DanH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 3:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,491
iTrader: (6)
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 125
I am wondering if it is a scam or a loophole, a couple of quotes from their site:

"Our members enjoy direct downloads. Internetdownloas.org is not a P2P service."

and

"You will be crossing the fine legal line as soon as you start recording you downloads massively with the objective of selling CDs or DVDs which you haven't bought and have got no resale rights for.

You will be also crossing the line if you use your recorded downloads for public radio broadcasting or for public viewing or enjoyement as it would be the case using them in a movie theatre, a bar, pub, disco, and all kinds of other public places."

It seems that you can pay for direct downloads from their servers, and you don't have to go for the package that includes the software/codec packs.
No sharing required.

lisag is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 4:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
DanH's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 25, Got 52
There is no way in hell they will have any content for download from a server they own. If they had films/games/music available on a server they would be in serious trouble. It is totally illegal.

All they will give you is a p2p program, the same everybody else is using (illegally) for free.* Claims like....
Quote:
DOES Internetdownloads HAVE THE SAME FILES I CAN FIND ELSEWHERE?

Highly unlikely! Since our service was engineered specifically to download high quality files and the database was created for the same purpose, our members enjoy unprecedented download speeds, even with a slow connection, and the highest quality video and audio files available on the Net today.
are laughable.

* Thats assuming of course you even get that. Would you really even contemplate entering your card details on a website like this???
DanH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 4:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,491
iTrader: (6)
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanH
Would you really even contemplate entering your card details on a website like this???
Er, no, course not ....

....although, they claim to be recommended by PC Pro, PCW, PC Buyers Guide and Computer Shopper - all legitimate PC mags...

Last edited by lisag; 02-07-2005 at 4:58 PM.
lisag is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 9:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 12,047
iTrader: (129)
Thanks: Gave 12, Got 595
Check out the terms of service...

Quote:
1. INTERNETDOWNLOADS GROUP LCC makes no claim to ownership or proprietary interest in any of the websites and/or software it recommends. We do not re-sell or license software downloaded from other sites. INTERNETDOWNLOADS GROUP LCC does not host or share copyrighted files, we offer quick access to programs and other utilities to download movies and music, as well as online tutorials to teach you how to use these programs.
No matter what they have written on their main page they will have a disclaimer saying anything you get is nothing to do with them.

Last edited by Indiana Jones; 02-07-2005 at 9:07 PM.
Indiana Jones is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 9:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
DanH's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 25, Got 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisag
....although, they claim to be recommended by PC Pro, PCW, PC Buyers Guide and Computer Shopper - all legitimate PC mags...
Id be willing to bet my next pay packet that they are using the logos without permission.
The whole site looks like a jumbled mess of ripped off graphics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indiana Jones
No matter what they have written on their main page they will have a disclaimer saying anything you get is nothing to do with them
Exactly, and yet they claim to offer fast direct downloads with no sharing.
Also, if what they are selling has nothing to do with them, how can they charge anything for it? If your lucky enough to get anything from these cowboys, it will just be a "tutorial" of where to get free programs and how to use them. Something that Google can already do quite well without costing anything.
DanH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 10:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
John Watts's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,054
iTrader: (83)
Thanks: Gave 12, Got 16
There's no such thing as a free lunch!
__________________
‘Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.’
Arthur C Clarke.
John Watts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 12:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,491
iTrader: (6)
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 125
Maybe I could e-mail those mags and ask if they are really recommending this site?
lisag is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 5:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
FoxyMulder
Guest
Posts: n/a
Rip off merchants, do not pay them any money they are definately not legitimate.

Try EMule or WinMx and avoid Kazza as it contains spyware, the first 2 i mentioned have no spyware associated with them.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2005, 11:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stirling
Posts: 1,590
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 58, Got 68
The folks above are right its a scam / rip off. Having just got broadband I've yet to use PP/ bittorent etc but have being doing my research and this was covered in a google search for " bittorrent dangers" where a site mentioned that there are sites like these that sell you something you can get for hehaw and they will almost always add spyware as well.
listen to the folks on these forums and avoid.

On the spyware front, so far I believe WINMX BITTORRENT and LIMEWIRE dont have spyware ( provided you download from their official sites) hopefully one of the more savvy AVforums members can confirm this.
pwood is offline  
Reply With Quote

Bookmarks

Tags
internetdownloadsorg


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18 PM.

AV ForumsOptimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2008 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting