AVForums.com is the UK's biggest & best home consumer electronics discussion resource New to AVForums.com? Start by reading our introduction here.


Go Back   AVForums.com > Movies, TV Programmes and Music > On Disc and Downloaded > Movie Suppliers and Technology

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-05-2005, 9:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 192
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 7, Got 4
DVDmad.com

Anyone used DVDMad.com? I've seen a title I want quite cheap there but I've never heard of the company before or where they are based.

Cheers,

Paulus.
paulus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2005, 8:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (51)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 10
Looks dodgy to me, they have Be Cool on region 2, its not even out on region 1 till 7th of June.
s1hastie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2005, 8:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 192
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 7, Got 4
I'm suspicious that nowhere on their site does it mention where in the world they are based. There is no registered office, no contact details other than by email.

Here is a bit from their terms and conditions "..... DVDMAD.com may seek injunctive or other appropriate relief in any state or federal court in the state of UK...".

The "state of UK" bit seems rather odd to me. I know other people joke that we are just another US state but I didn't think that was set in stone yet
paulus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2005, 4:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Fatti's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Worcester
Posts: 411
iTrader: (2)
Thanks: Gave 10, Got 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulus
I'm suspicious that nowhere on their site does it mention where in the world they are based. There is no registered office, no contact details other than by email.
Never heard of them before, but on their homepage under the information section, there's a heading entitled Printable Catalog. It has the address as Friern Barnet in London...no phone number though. Couldn't comment on whether they are legit or not.
__________________
Jon
Fatti is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
Isn't Be Cool under the coming soon section?

I'm new, I know (and don't worry, I'm not a secret spy of that site).

I actually joined to ask a question about it (I also asked it on IMDb where I found out about dvdmad.com)

They're selling the 8 DVD Star Wars trilogy set and it contains all the Episodes apart from Episode III and it also has bonus content. Its really cheap for £28.99 (much cheaper than the 4 disc set that retails for £34.99 to £39.99) and I might buy it (since it must be a limited edition set and whether you're a Star Wars fan or just like movies, its pretty cool to have a boxset like this) but won't pay for it yet unless you think its good.

So is it worth paying for?

Its on the front page of DVDMad.com.

I've read the previous replies so I am cautious but I figured that some risks are worth taking and if they are genuine, which their site makes me believe that they are, then I could save a lot of money in future transactions (I'm an avid DVD collector).
kmartoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 4:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Last Aerie
Posts: 1,490
iTrader: (23)
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 27
It seems well-done but the fact they state "Region 2" on their site logo, yet I cannot find a DVD cover with a BBFC cert on (including the 8 disc StarWars boxset), makes me think they are a con-outfit.
__________________
A/V: Panasonic TH50-PHD8, Pionner 696 and AX4ASi, Toshiba HD-Xa1 & SkyHD
Speakers: MS 900 Series & SVS PB10 Gaming: XBox360 & PS3
DVDs
shaithis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 4:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Greg's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kristen Bell
Posts: 5,065
iTrader: (46)
Thanks: Gave 64, Got 329
They have Hostage listed as in stock but it isn't released until July.

Also none of the DVDs have any information with them, no details of spec, extras etc.

If they are kosher, the site seems a bit unprofessional to me. But some of their prices aren't that cheap that would make you think they are copies. It might just be a new site that they haven't got all the information uploaded yet.

Difficult to say either way.
__________________
My opinions expressed here are not necessarily those of the AV Forums or the associated websites.

If you are caught on a golf course during a storm and are afraid of lightning, hold up a 1-iron. Not even God can hit a 1-iron.

Last edited by Greg; 08-06-2005 at 4:57 PM.
Greg is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 5:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
FoxyMulder
Guest
Posts: n/a
Perphaps a new company starting out but i do note some inaccuracies for example the credit card details, they claim to show the last 5 digits, usually its only the last 4 shown ( i know this for a fact as my work requires such information ) so to say 5 digits are shown in the UK is weird, maybe they're american and not used to UK practices, also spelling mistakes which i haven't usually seen at any sites i visit to buy films from and as already mentioned prices seem exceptionally too good to be true and the covers have no BBFC label on em.

If in doubt get a phone number and give em a ring for more details and also consult your local trading standards office and see if any complaints have come in and then take it from there as maybe they're just new and starting out and have to iron out a few things on their site.

Last edited by FoxyMulder; 08-06-2005 at 5:12 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 6:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
I've ordered the Star Wars trilogy off of them.

I'll let you know if my order arrives.

I like to give people the benefit of the doubt. Since they did reply to my e-mails that gave them an extra point in my trust book.
kmartoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2005, 10:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
I got it today.

Its most certainly official. Everything about it was great from the packaging to the DVDs themselves. I watched Episode VI only though (its the only one I had never seen).
kmartoman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Bookmarks

Tags
dvdmadcom


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 PM.

AV ForumsOptimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2008 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting