AVForums.com is the UK's biggest & best home consumer electronics discussion resource New to AVForums.com? Start by reading our introduction here.


Go Back   AVForums.com > Movies, TV Programmes and Music > On Disc and Downloaded > Movie Suppliers and Technology

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2004, 7:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
networkfour
Guest
Posts: n/a
Movietyme

Hi
Hope someone can help. I had a DVD dispatched from Movietyme on 10th September. It hasnt arrived. When I contact via their contact page on the site or via Outlook I receive the message below. This is my first order with them, I have received no DVD and they don't seem to accept emails. The first email I sent was over a week ago. Are they a reputable company or have I been conned. It is possible I am receiving this message from a junk/virus site, but I am very suspicious.
Thanks
Ian


Hello, you recently sent a message to sales@movietyme.com.
We are now using a mailbox protection system to block unsolicited junk mail as we were getting over 400 junk emails per day. Because you are actually reading this note, it is highly unlikely that your message to me was in fact unsolicited. However, I regret that I do not already have your email address in my whitelist. That is why this note has been sent to you.
Please click on the link below to verify your identity.


[Click here to request approval]

When your browser opens, fill in your name and a short reason for wishing to send e-mail to me. Your message will be delivered to me after I review this information.

There is no need to send your original message again.

The information you provide will only be seen by MovieTyme and is not saved for any purpose other than to see that this is a genuine email.

Please be aware that a response is required within 4 day(s) to prevent your messages from being automatically deleted.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 7:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
FoxyMulder
Guest
Posts: n/a
Try contacting Craig@Movietyme he's a member of this site and you should find him in the members directory.

They are a reputable company and i have bought many films off them.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 7:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
Movietyme are a highly reputable company and I too have ordered lots of stuff from them, with nothing going astray. However their delivery times do seem to have got a lot longer of late. Ten days or thereabouts seems to be the norm. If I want something quickly I use Play USA or Loaded 247.com.
cazzasguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 7:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
networkfour
Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks for the quick reply. I have sent a message to Craig, at least I know they are OK.Thanks
Ian
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
Marc's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southsea
Posts: 5,177
iTrader: (93)
Thanks: Gave 127, Got 286
Blog Entries: 1
that initial email you received isnt a virus, or spam or anything like that, but its still not a good idea to click the link to add your address to the safe list, as it also adds you to a spam directory.
__________________
My almighty DVD/HD-DVD/Blu Ray Collection

MANCHESTER UNITED - PREMIER LEAGUE AND EUROPEAN CHAMPIONS 2007/8
Marc is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 8:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
I don't think this is just adding to a spammers list!

This is a means of filtering incoming email known as "Challenge - Response".

By challenging you to provide a response, it filters out all the automated junk that gets sent arounf the internet. Usually, you only have to put your email address in, and enter a code that is displyaed on screen. This task is very simple for a human, but a machine finds it almost impossible.

I would imagine that Craig an the rest of the team at Moviethyme just got fed up with hundreds of offers for generic viagra, cheap mortgage deals or "enlargement"
Rob Pyatt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 11:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Prominent Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire!
Posts: 4,766
iTrader: (2)
Thanks: Gave 871, Got 616
Hi,

The "Challenge-Response" e-mail, is absolutely GENUINE, as I have had them from Movietyme, and some of the Movietyme staff have explained the need for them.

Don't worry about it, and as long as you are using proper security protection (e.g. a virus checker, and a firewall), then you will not meet any problems by clicking on the link in the message they have sent you.

As others have suggested though, any problems, and contact Craig via this website. Do a Member Name Search and look for "Craig @ Movietyme".


Pooch
PoochJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 11:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,380
iTrader: (79)
Thanks: Gave 69, Got 67
I had an order despatched on sept 10th. Mine too is yet to arrive. Not worried, movietyme have always been good.
__________________
Panasonic TH42-PH9 PS3 250GB Oppo DV-983H Onkyo 875 Mission 733 (front) 773 (rear) Kef 200c (centre) Rel Q150e (sub) Pioneer DVL-700
TarPot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 1:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
Marc's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southsea
Posts: 5,177
iTrader: (93)
Thanks: Gave 127, Got 286
Blog Entries: 1
if they host the "challenge response" email themselves then ok, but the 3rd party companies that do it on someone's behalf, add you to junk mail sender lists without stating it anywhere in T&C's. I did a bit of research on the matter after some people at work asked me if it was wise to click on the links.
__________________
My almighty DVD/HD-DVD/Blu Ray Collection

MANCHESTER UNITED - PREMIER LEAGUE AND EUROPEAN CHAMPIONS 2007/8
Marc is online now  
Reply With Quote

Bookmarks

Tags
movietyme


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM.

AV ForumsOptimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2008 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting