 |
|
|
07-08-2004, 1:45 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wales
Posts: 126
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 7
|
New dvd's for only £7
Has anyone heared of a dvd site called leng99.com, they have very new dvd's for only £7 EACH all with DTS  , ive just recieved back in 5 days from Kuala lumpur MAN ON FIRE &THE PASSION OF CHRIST, im just wondering has anyone else used them & what do you think of them  .
These discs are NOT copies & are perfect, they don't come in a hard box but in plastic sleeve, with the cover in the sleeve so it saves on p&p.
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 2:02 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
Assured Advertiser
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where ever you want me to be.
Posts: 24,937
Thanks: Gave 76, Got 1,101
|
Does it say DVD9 anywhere on packing?
__________________
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 2:12 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wales
Posts: 126
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 7
|
Yes it does say dvd 9 on the cover, why what does this mean ??
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 2:29 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Worcester
Posts: 411
Thanks: Gave 10, Got 11
|
I think he's trying to tell you they aren't the genuine article. R1 sites I've looked at show the release date of The Passion of the Christ as being 31st of August...leng99 have it three and a bit weeks earlier than anyone else, its seven quid and it apparantly has English audio whereas the all the other versions have Hebrew and Latin and English subs. I suspect these may be pirates 
__________________
Jon
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 3:03 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Assured Advertiser
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where ever you want me to be.
Posts: 24,937
Thanks: Gave 76, Got 1,101
|
DVD 9 is a pressed pirate made on ships that sit 12 miles off Kuala Lumpar in international water, disc out there are only $2-3 so you have been ripped off mate! they are pirates, so good that other bootleggers put DVD 9 on their rubbish to try and sell it! unlike PC burnt pirates done in back rooms these are dual layer pressed disc made on the same machines as legitimate pressings.... BUT are run by organised gangs and funded by th triads out of hong kong apparently. They tend not to be Camcorder rips but master of the 35mm or stolen Premiere pressings etc.
THESE ARE ILLEGAL PIRATES
Which part of wales are you in? These things are all over the valleys!!!!
Counterfiet is a better description as these pretend to be the genuine article unlike the downloaded or home burnt pirates.
__________________
Last edited by hornydragon; 07-08-2004 at 3:06 PM.
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 3:08 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wales
Posts: 126
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 7
|
Bloody hell !! thanks for your knowlage, i wonder how many other people have been ripped off aswel ?? i wont bother with them again, thanks for your help..
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 3:11 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
Assured Advertiser
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where ever you want me to be.
Posts: 24,937
Thanks: Gave 76, Got 1,101
|
LOADS mate these things get passed off as all sorts, review releases media pre-release anything, DVD9 is branded counterfeit, i personally hate pirates, if you are bothered you could contact trading standards.
__________________
|
|
|
|
07-08-2004, 11:34 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: South of Heaven
Posts: 2,013
Thanks: Gave 1, Got 22
|
How did you pay for them?? Credit card, Debit card ?? I would be very worried about your card if you have used them to buy these pirates - The Bootleggers will love playing with your CC details 
__________________
My DVD Collection
Xbox 360 Blog
The Only UK xbox360 clan you will ever need
|
|
|
|
08-08-2004, 12:01 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wales
Posts: 126
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 7
|
I paid using my solo debit card, using "PAY PAL", ive been told its a very secure way of paying ?? im gutted now,feel ive been ripped off, all i hope is by others reading this thread it will put them off using leng99. I live just outside Swansea in south west wales (to ansa your question) HORNY DRAGON.. From now on i'll stick to just using proper dvd sites such as the ones that advertise on here ..Many thanks to all who has given me theyr advise its opend my eyes to all is not as it seems.....
|
|
|
|
08-08-2004, 12:02 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 559
Thanks: Gave 13, Got 10
|
There are loads of web sites out there selling dvd9 and dvd5 (single layer dvds). Some get raided by police and shut down and everyone waiting for their placed (sometimes big) orders all lose out. So you always take a risk of losing your money. These people sometimes just switch names/locations, etc and you could lose your money that way too.
The other thing to remember is many companies claiming to sell dvd9, only have data on their dvd at less than 4.3gb !! A true dvd9 will have more than that.
There are millions transacted via official web sites....EBAY !!!!! ???? albeit rarely at such cheap prices as £7 - so you were not really conned. Yes, they maybe £2-£3 in malaysia, but that's the only place you will be able to purchase them at that price !!!!! If you do see them at about £7 on ebay you will probably have to wait 2 weeks for them.
If u really want to give one a go ask a seller what size is the dvd regardless of stated claims of dvd9 !!! And if it's a film that has just come out (anywhere in the world) than you're buying a cinama copy regardless of what they state !! i.e catwoman, spiderman 2, troy, etc. Also some sellers on ebay place the order with people like leng after they have found a buyer.
Note: Most of these illegal dvd9's are very near perfect copies of the region 1 releases.
Another thing to mention is that there are quite a few people selling dvd9 on ebay as region 2, when quite clearly this would be an impossibility. On sending emails to people who have purchased these , they seem to be very happy as the dvd's still worked on their players. One even said it was a region 1 he received, but he was happy enough as he had a multi-region dvd player. I didn't mention it had all the hallmarks of a R0 dvd with an NTSC signal showing up on his dvd player !!!! DON'T ASSUME IT'S A REGION 1.
God, I could go on for hours on the subject or write a book !!!
__________________
Andrew
Pioneer 507xde - Sony STRDB-930 - Mission 760i rears - Gales 3020 front - Gale 4050 Centre- Wharefdale SW10 Sub - Echostar AD3000IP - Panasonic DMR-EX85 - Pace DS810XE - psp slim&lite
|
|
|
|
08-08-2004, 12:04 AM
|
#11 (permalink)
|
|
Assured Advertiser
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where ever you want me to be.
Posts: 24,937
Thanks: Gave 76, Got 1,101
|
they are sold all over the valleys, i have a mate in the Rhondda who gets them from "a bloke in the pub"..... They get sold quite openly at car boots and on markets.
__________________
|
|
|
|
08-08-2004, 12:22 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 559
Thanks: Gave 13, Got 10
|
yeh I've seen them selling in car boot sales and I have also been approached in shopping car parks selling them for a fiver - BUT I have yet to see a proper dual layer dvd. Even with dvd9 stickers on them, they are in fact single layer material i.e under 4.3gb !!
__________________
Andrew
Pioneer 507xde - Sony STRDB-930 - Mission 760i rears - Gales 3020 front - Gale 4050 Centre- Wharefdale SW10 Sub - Echostar AD3000IP - Panasonic DMR-EX85 - Pace DS810XE - psp slim&lite
|
|
|
|
09-08-2004, 11:41 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
|
Assured Advertiser
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Where ever you want me to be.
Posts: 24,937
Thanks: Gave 76, Got 1,101
|
counterfeits of counterfeits!!!!!!!!! You gotta love it! recently some carboots and markets in hull were raided recently, and as near perfect as they maybe, still illegal.
__________________
|
|
|
|
10-08-2004, 7:10 AM
|
#14 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,415
Thanks: Gave 132, Got 65
|
hornydragon, are you sure that DVD9 is a "pirate brand"? I have gotten R3's from CDWOW (eg. The Grudge and more) that have "DVD9" printed on the covers. I would assume that CDWOW is legit (many of us on the forum buy from them), so it might not be 100% to brand them all as fakes (although I can't be sure!).
|
|
|
|
10-08-2004, 8:45 AM
|
#15 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 48
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
|
Is DVD9 not just the dual layer format?
|
|
|
|
| |