Gigabyte GA-EP41-UD3L will not overclock

Ikki

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Be aware that this board will not overclock even to the tiniest degree. I have a Q6600 in it that has been running rock solid and cool in a now faulty MSI P35 Neo2 FR board for a very long time at over 3GHz. Nothing will allow the processor to work above stock settings, any attempt to do so leads to boot failure. I have been overclocking for many years and am not a novice, I have tried everything but it just won't budge. The few Internet threads on the board come up with the same experience.

So if you are looking for a cheaper alternative for the GA-EP45-UD3 boards which are getting a good rep for overclocking (but aren't available from Scan) this is not a good choice. Otherwise the board is solid and would be good for a general purpose PC.

:(

Hi, I have same mobo now and the O'C ability is very poor but I could push my E8400 little bit higher. You probably will need to play with PCI-E freq manually. I set 356 MHz FSB and 105 MHz PCIE and it works. But it seems it cannot go higher. I know that my CPU can go at 3,6 GHz without increasing Vcore.

I don't know why gigabyte includes tens of o'c settings in M.I.T setup when I has some stupid limitation of FSB...

I will try that. I locked the PCI-E to 100MHz as I know that having it off spec can cause a lot of problems. This particular board won't work with an fsb of more than 266MHz. If I could get it to 333MHZ, I would be happy as this Q6600 has quite a high Vin and won't clock much higher anyway without silly core voltages.

You could try upping the MCH voltage by 0.1V if you haven't already. I have to do that to get my E4300 (w/DS3 board) up to 3 gig.