Recommend me a newsreader

markwww673

Prominent Member
Reaction score
New to macs and using bootcamp really just to use Newsbin in XP

Can anyone recommend something similar for os X

cheers

Mark..

In my opinion the mac platform is alot better then windows when it comes to using newzbin, and usenet. Unison is by far the best and is a one click job, although its not free. You also need Macpar deluxe for the par files and it also auto unrars them. hope this helps

thx trying out Unison now but it looks like it can only use 1 news-server at a time not combine the results from 3 servers to get files faster

Mark...

I'd be interested in this too. I still use newsleecher through parallels. I can run it in a window in OSX and I have a subscription for it, so I'm ok so far, but if htere was something similar but native I'd take a look.

Do any have the equivalent of Newsleechers 'supersearch'? I find that invaluable.

BTW, what do you mean by multiple servers? Do you actually mean different servers, or multiple connections to the same server?

AFAIK, there aren't *any* Mac newsreaders that come close to Newsleecher on the PC.. certainly not for features and ease of use.. Yes, Unison is an EXCELLENT Mac app, but it doesn't combine everything into one application like Newsleecher does.. (You still have to faff around with MacPar Deluxe and/or Split & Concat whereas Newsleecher does it ALL for you) ;)

i.e Repair and Extract, supersearch, scheduling, Redundant PAR analysis (e.g. It works out what PARs you need on the fly and pauses them/queues them as appropriate so you don't have get PARs you don't need) etc.